Home › Fish skin chews

Fish skin dog chews: what cod, wolffish and salmon skin brands say

Fish skin chews are dried cod, wolffish or salmon skins, sold rolled, wrapped into sticks or as whole skins. If you're asking whether fish skins are good for dogs, the brand pages below make nutrition claims (omega-3s, protein, dental support) in their own words, and we leave those claims on their pages rather than repeat them as fact. What we compare is what each page states: the one ingredient, where the fish is from and where the chew is made, the fat and calorie figures, and which dog sizes it names. The fat figures differ a lot: the cod and wolffish skins here list 1% to 4.49% fat, while Jack's Premium lists 18% for its smoked salmon skins. Anything a page doesn't say is marked Not stated. Ask your vet whether a fish skin chew suits your dog.

9 products · every claim is quoted from the brand's own page and linked · no prices (they change; check the brand) · page updated 2026-11-01 · compare all in one table

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Products on this page

Quick answers

Where are fish skin chews made or sourced?

8 of the 9 fish skin chews product pages we list state where the chew is made; the rest don't say. Places named in the brands' own made-in or sourcing wording, with the number of products: USA (5), Iceland (5), Alaska (3), Canada (1), Norway (1). Some pages name several possible countries, so the counts can add up to more than the number of products. These are the brands' claims, not ours; each card below quotes the exact wording. Last checked 2026-11-01.

Which fish skin chews say they're made or sourced in the USA?

5 of 9: Campfire Treats Cod Skin Treats for Dogs; Campfire Treats Cod Skins for Dogs | Alaskan Crunch™; Icelandic+ Hand Wrapped Cod Skin Long 10" Chew Sticks for Dogs; The Honest Kitchen Ocean Chews Crispy Cod Fish Skins Beams; The Honest Kitchen Ocean Chews Hearty Wolffish Skins Beams. The wording differs (for example sourced in the USA vs made in the USA), so read the quote on each card.

Which fish skin chews say they're both sourced and made in the USA?

2 of 9 say both made (or baked) in the USA and sourced in the USA: Campfire Treats Cod Skin Treats for Dogs; Campfire Treats Cod Skins for Dogs | Alaskan Crunch™. 2 say made or baked in the USA but don't say the source is the USA: The Honest Kitchen Ocean Chews Crispy Cod Fish Skins Beams; The Honest Kitchen Ocean Chews Hearty Wolffish Skins Beams. 1 names the USA another way (for example packaged in, or country of origin): Icelandic+ Hand Wrapped Cod Skin Long 10" Chew Sticks for Dogs. Some lines name the USA alongside other countries, so read the exact quote on each card.

Which fish skin chews do brands say are for puppies or small dogs?

4 of 9 product pages mention puppies or small dogs in their size guidance: Campfire Treats Cod Skin Treats for Dogs; Campfire Treats Cod Skins for Dogs | Alaskan Crunch™; The Honest Kitchen Ocean Chews Crispy Cod Fish Skins Beams; The Honest Kitchen Ocean Chews Hearty Wolffish Skins Beams. Of those, 4 also say made in the USA: Campfire Treats Cod Skin Treats for Dogs; Campfire Treats Cod Skins for Dogs | Alaskan Crunch™; The Honest Kitchen Ocean Chews Crispy Cod Fish Skins Beams; The Honest Kitchen Ocean Chews Hearty Wolffish Skins Beams. This is the brands' own size wording, not our recommendation; read each card's size and supervision quotes.

Which fish skin chews come in packs of 20 or more?

1 of 9 product pages list a pack of 20 or more: Icelandic+ 100% Wild-Caught Icelandic Cod Skin Chews for Dogs (Cod Short Skins) (up to 36). Counted from each brand's own pack options as of the last check; pages that list only lengths, weights, or unnumbered case counts aren't counted. Pack options and prices change, so check the brand's page.

Which brands' fish skin chews are listed here?

9 products from 4 brands: Campfire Treats (2), Icelandic+ (4), Jack's Premium (1), The Honest Kitchen (2). Nibbables doesn't rank or rate them; each card links the brand's own product page.

Do brands say their fish skin chews are rawhide-free?

None of the 9 product pages we list use the words rawhide-free or made without rawhide. That doesn't mean they contain rawhide; the pages just don't say. Check with the brand.

What do brands say about supervising dogs with fish skin chews?

2 of the 9 fish skin chews product pages we list include supervision or feeding wording; 7 don't say anything we could quote. 2 say to supervise or monitor your dog (Campfire Treats). 2 mention fresh water (Campfire Treats). These are the brands' words, not a safety rating from us; each card quotes the exact wording, and your vet knows your dog.

How often can a dog have fish skin chews?

None of the 9 fish skin chews product pages we list give a number of chews per day or week in the wording we quote. For how often your own dog should have one, ask your vet; we don't give feeding advice.

At a glance: made-in, sourcing, rawhide-free and options for 9 fish skin chews

Each cell is the brand's own wording from its product page, the same text as the product card below. "Not stated" means the page doesn't say, so check with the brand.
Brand / productMade-in claimSourced-from claimRawhide-free (as stated)Options on the brand page
Campfire Treats
Cod Skin Treats for Dogs
Sourced and made in the USAmade from sustainably wild-caught Alaskan cod, which we buy from a Marine Stewardship Council (MSC) certified fisheryNot stated2 oz
Campfire Treats
Cod Skins for Dogs | Alaskan Crunch™
Sourced and made in the USAmade from sustainably wild-caught Alaskan cod, which we buy from a Marine Stewardship Council (MSC) certified fisheryNot stated4.5 oz · 12 oz
Icelandic+
100% Wild-Caught Icelandic Cod Skin Chews for Dogs (Cod Short Skins)
Product of Iceland, Packed in Iceland.made from 100% wild-caught cod sourced from the pure, icy waters of IcelandNot statedCod Short Skins Dog Chew (3 count) · Cod Short Skins Dog Chew 36 count
Icelandic+
Cod Long Skins Dog Chews (20 Skin Count)
Product of Iceland, Packed in Iceland.made from 100% wild-caught cod sourced from the pristine, icy waters of IcelandNot stated20 Long Skins (18-22 inch)
Icelandic+
Hand Wrapped Cod Skin Long 10" Chew Sticks for Dogs
Product of Iceland, Packed in the USA. · Artisan Handcrafted in Iceland100% Pure Cod Skin – Sustainably wild-caught in Iceland’s pristine waters.Not stated2 pack · 12 pack
Icelandic+
Wolffish Skin Sticks & Pieces Dog Treats
Product of Iceland, Packed in Iceland.100% Wild-Caught from sustainable Icelandic fisheriesNot stated3-oz Bag · 9-oz Bag
Jack's Premium
Salmon Skin
Not statedWe work with local seafood distributors that sustainably source wild caught salmon and sustainably raised Norwegian Salmon to use what they would throw away that does not go to restaurants.Not stated1 Skin · 6 Skins
The Honest Kitchen
Ocean Chews Crispy Cod Fish Skins Beams
*Made in the USA with ingredients sourced from the US and around the world.The fish we use is wild caught in Iceland, Alaska, or CanadaNot stated2.75 oz · 5.5 oz
The Honest Kitchen
Ocean Chews Hearty Wolffish Skins Beams
*Made in the USA with ingredients sourced from the US and around the world.Not statedNot stated3.25 oz · 6 oz

Watch: Fish skin chews: what the brands' pages say, in under a minute

A 54-second summary of this page (brand pages checked 2026-11-01 and 2026-11-02). Information, not veterinary advice. Narration is computer-generated. Watch on YouTube · Nibbables on YouTube

Read the video transcript

Fish skin chews all look alike: a dried strip of fish skin. But Campfire's cod skins list one percent fat, and Jack's Premium salmon skins list eighteen percent.

Most people assume fish skin is fish skin. But across nine chews from four brands, the cod and wolffish skins list one to about four and a half percent fat. The smoked salmon skins list eighteen. If your vet has you watching fat, check which fish it is.

Here's a twist. Two Icelandic Plus cod chews, same brand. One page says packed in Iceland. The other says packed in the USA. If where it's packed matters to you, read each page, not just the brand.

And don't expect a long chew. Jack's Premium says its salmon skins are a crunchy treat that lasts up to five minutes, depending on the pet.

All nine, quoted side by side, are at nibbables dot com. Supervise every chew, and ask your vet.

Guides about fish skin chews

All chews grouped by dog size and chewer type, in each brand's words →

Other chew types we list

All 9 fish skin chews we list, with what each brand's page says

Fish skin chews

Campfire Treats: Cod Skin Treats for Dogs

Ingredients (as listed)
Ingredients: Dehydrated cod skins
Made-in claim
Sourced and made in the USA
Sourced-from claim
made from sustainably wild-caught Alaskan cod, which we buy from a Marine Stewardship Council (MSC) certified fishery
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
a crunchy and irresistibly tasty chew for small to medium sized canines · Dog Size: Small, medium, large · Life-Stage: Puppy, young, adult, senior
Supervision note
Always supervise your dog when feeding any treats or chews. Please ensure that your dog has always access to plenty of fresh water.
Guaranteed analysis (brand label)
Crude Protein (min.) | 85% | Crude Fat (min.) | 1% | Crude Fiber (max.) | 0% | Moisture (max.) | 7%
Options on the page
  • 2 oz
Note
The page says "Pieces are around four to five inches in length." Its intro says "small to medium sized canines" while its Dog Size line also lists large. Nutrition: "Crude Protein (min.) 85%", "Crude Fat (min.) 1%"; "Calorie Content: 3,030 kcal/kg; 86 kcal/oz".
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-11-01
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Fish skin chews

Campfire Treats: Cod Skins for Dogs | Alaskan Crunch™

Ingredients (as listed)
Ingredients: Dehydrated cod skins
Made-in claim
Sourced and made in the USA
Sourced-from claim
made from sustainably wild-caught Alaskan cod, which we buy from a Marine Stewardship Council (MSC) certified fishery
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
a savory, irresistibly tasty chew for canines of all sizes · Dog Size: Small, medium, large, giant · Life-Stage: Puppy, young, adult, senior
Supervision note
Always supervise your dog when feeding any treats or chews. Please ensure that your dog has always access to plenty of fresh water.
Guaranteed analysis (brand label)
Crude Protein (min.) | 85% | Crude Fat (min.) | 1% | Crude Fiber (max.) | 0% | Moisture (max.) | 7%
Options on the page
  • 4.5 oz
  • 12 oz
Note
The page says "Pieces are between 8 and 12 inches in length." and "Every piece is hand-rolled, and dehydrated in small batches in our Northern California kitchen." Nutrition: "Crude Protein (min.) 85%", "Crude Fat (min.) 1%"; "Calorie Content: 3,030 kcal/kg; 86 kcal/oz".
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-11-01
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Fish skin chews

Icelandic+: 100% Wild-Caught Icelandic Cod Skin Chews for Dogs (Cod Short Skins)

Ingredients (as listed)
Ingredients: Cod Skins
Made-in claim
Product of Iceland, Packed in Iceland.
Sourced-from claim
made from 100% wild-caught cod sourced from the pure, icy waters of Iceland
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
8-10" size works for small to large dogs
Supervision note
Not stated, check with them
Options on the page
  • Cod Short Skins Dog Chew (3 count)
  • Cod Short Skins Dog Chew 36 count
Note
The page says "Each skin is approximately 8-10”". Guaranteed analysis: "Protein (Min) 82.0%", "Fat (Min) 2.0%", "Moisture (Max) 12.0%"; calories "2800 kcal/kg, 40 kcal/treat (Calculated ME)".
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-11-01
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Fish skin chews

Icelandic+: Cod Long Skins Dog Chews (20 Skin Count)

Ingredients (as listed)
Ingredients: Cod Skins
Made-in claim
Product of Iceland, Packed in Iceland.
Sourced-from claim
made from 100% wild-caught cod sourced from the pristine, icy waters of Iceland
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Each skin is 18–22 inches long offering a long-lasting, satisfying chew for dogs of all sizes.
Supervision note
Not stated, check with them
Guaranteed analysis (brand label)
Crude Protein (Min) 85.5% Crude Fat (Min) 2.42% Crude Fiber (Max) 0.2% Moisture (Max) 11.4%
Options on the page
  • 20 Long Skins (18-22 inch)
Note
Guaranteed analysis on the page: "Crude Protein (Min) 85.5%", "Crude Fat (Min) 2.42%", "Moisture (Max) 11.4%"; calories "2900 kcal per kg = 82.2 kcal per oz (Calculated ME)". The page calls the chew "Excellent alternative to rawhide" but doesn't say rawhide-free.
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-11-01
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Fish skin chews

Icelandic+: Hand Wrapped Cod Skin Long 10" Chew Sticks for Dogs

Ingredients (as listed)
Ingredients: Cod Skins
Made-in claim
Product of Iceland, Packed in the USA. · Artisan Handcrafted in Iceland
Sourced-from claim
100% Pure Cod Skin – Sustainably wild-caught in Iceland’s pristine waters.
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Not stated, check with them
Supervision note
Not stated, check with them
Guaranteed analysis (brand label)
Crude Protein (Min) 85.5% Crude Fat (Min) 2.42% Crude Fiber (Max) 0.2% Moisture (Max) 11.4%
Options on the page
  • 2 pack
  • 12 pack
Note
Unlike the other Icelandic+ pages we list ("Packed in Iceland"), this page says "Packed in the USA". Guaranteed analysis: "Crude Protein (Min) 85.5%", "Crude Fat (Min) 2.42%"; calories "2900 kcal per kg = 82.2 kcal per oz (Calculated ME)". The page describes it as a "Rawhide Alternative" but doesn't say rawhide-free. Amazon link is the 12-pack listing.
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-11-01
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Fish skin chews

Icelandic+: Wolffish Skin Sticks & Pieces Dog Treats

Ingredients (as listed)
Ingredients: Wolffish Skin
Made-in claim
Product of Iceland, Packed in Iceland.
Sourced-from claim
100% Wild-Caught from sustainable Icelandic fisheries
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Each bag features a variety of sizes and textures perfect for dogs of all sizes and treating preferences.
Supervision note
Not stated, check with them
Options on the page
  • 3-oz Bag
  • 9-oz Bag
Note
Guaranteed analysis: "Protein (Min) 77.7%", "Fat (Min) 4.49%", "Moisture (Max) 14%"; calories "3,180 Kcal/kg = 90 kcal per oz". The page's net-weight line reads "net wt. 3 oz. or 12 oz." while the options are 3-oz and 9-oz bags. Amazon link is the 9 oz listing.
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-11-01
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Fish skin chews

Jack's Premium: Salmon Skin

Ingredients (as listed)
100% Salmon Skin
Made-in claim
Not stated, check with them
Sourced-from claim
We work with local seafood distributors that sustainably source wild caught salmon and sustainably raised Norwegian Salmon to use what they would throw away that does not go to restaurants.
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Not stated, check with them
Supervision note
Not stated, check with them
Options on the page
  • 1 Skin
  • 6 Skins
Note
The page describes them as "Smoked and Dehydrated Salmon Skins" and says "They are a crunchy treat that lasts up to five minutes, depending on the pet chewing." Its nutrition panel lists Fat 18.0% (Protein 50.0%), far higher than the cod and wolffish skins here. Its FAQ answer says "We source our salmon skins from local seafood distributors that source wild caught salmon for restaurants.", while the description also names "sustainably raised Norwegian Salmon" (farmed).
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-11-01
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Fish skin chews

The Honest Kitchen: Ocean Chews Crispy Cod Fish Skins Beams

Ingredients (as listed)
Dehydrated codfish skins.
Made-in claim
*Made in the USA with ingredients sourced from the US and around the world.
Sourced-from claim
The fish we use is wild caught in Iceland, Alaska, or Canada
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Life Stages Puppy Adult
Supervision note
Not stated, check with them
Options on the page
  • 2.75 oz
  • 5.5 oz
Note
The made-in line is the site-wide footer statement, not specific to this product. The sourcing line is the brand's own answer in the page's Q&A. Nutrition: "Calories: 24 (kCal) per avg small chew", Protein 80%, Fat 4%, Moisture 14%. The page calls it a "natural alternative to rawhide chews" but doesn't say rawhide-free. Amazon link is the 2.75 oz listing.
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-11-01
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Fish skin chews

The Honest Kitchen: Ocean Chews Hearty Wolffish Skins Beams

Ingredients (as listed)
Dehydrated wolffish skins.
Made-in claim
*Made in the USA with ingredients sourced from the US and around the world.
Sourced-from claim
Not stated, check with them
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Life Stages Puppy Adult
Supervision note
Not stated, check with them
Options on the page
  • 3.25 oz
  • 6 oz
Note
The made-in line is the site-wide footer statement, not specific to this product. Nutrition: "Calories: 37 (kCal) per avg chew", Protein 80%, Fat 4%, Moisture 14%. The page calls it a "natural alternative to rawhide chews" but doesn't say rawhide-free. Amazon link is the 3.25 oz listing.
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-11-01
Check on Amazon

Report a change