Home › Cow hooves

Cow hoof dog chews: what each brand says about origin, fillings and sizes

Cow hooves are cleaned, dried or baked beef hooves, sold plain or with a filling in the hollow center. If you're asking whether cow hooves are good for dogs, we leave each brand's claims on its own page and compare only what the pages state: the ingredients, where the hooves come from and where they're made, the fat and calorie figures, and which chewers each brand names. Plain and filled hooves differ a lot: the plain hooves list one ingredient, while the filled ones list a filling with corn syrup, sugar and preservatives. Stated origins include Brazil, Australia and the USA. Pawstruck's page warns that natural hooves may splinter or break. Anything a page doesn't say is marked Not stated. Ask your vet whether a hoof suits your dog.

7 products · every claim is quoted from the brand's own page and linked · no prices (they change; check the brand) · compare all in one table

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Products on this page

Quick answers

Where are cow hooves made or sourced?

5 of the 7 cow hooves product pages we list state where the chew is made; the rest don't say. Places named in the brands' own made-in or sourcing wording, with the number of products: USA (4), Brazil (1), Australia (1). Some pages name several possible countries, so the counts can add up to more than the number of products. These are the brands' claims, not ours; each card below quotes the exact wording. Last checked 2026-11-04.

Which cow hooves say they're made or sourced in the USA?

4 of 7: Pawstruck Cow Hooves for Dogs; Pawstruck Filled Cow Hooves - Peanut Butter; Redbarn Filled Hoof Beef Flavor; Redbarn Filled Hoof Peanut Butter Flavor. The wording differs (for example sourced in the USA vs made in the USA), so read the quote on each card.

Which cow hooves say they're both sourced and made in the USA?

0 of 7 say both made (or baked) in the USA and sourced in the USA. 3 say made or baked in the USA but don't say the source is the USA: Pawstruck Filled Cow Hooves - Peanut Butter; Redbarn Filled Hoof Beef Flavor; Redbarn Filled Hoof Peanut Butter Flavor. 1 names the USA another way (for example packaged in, or country of origin): Pawstruck Cow Hooves for Dogs. Some lines name the USA alongside other countries, so read the exact quote on each card.

Which cow hooves do brands say are for puppies or small dogs?

1 of 7 product pages mention puppies or small dogs in their size guidance: Jack&Pup 100% Natural Cow Hooves. None of those say the chew is made in the USA. This is the brands' own size wording, not our recommendation; read each card's size and supervision quotes.

Which cow hooves come in packs of 20 or more?

2 of 7 product pages list a pack of 20 or more: Best Bully Sticks 100% Natural Cow Hooves Dog Chews (25 count Value Pack) (up to 25); Jack&Pup 100% Natural Cow Hooves (up to 25). Counted from each brand's own pack options as of the last check; pages that list only lengths, weights, or unnumbered case counts aren't counted. Pack options and prices change, so check the brand's page.

Which brands' cow hooves are listed here?

7 products from 4 brands: Best Bully Sticks (2), Jack&Pup (1), Pawstruck (2), Redbarn (2). Nibbables doesn't rank or rate them; each card links the brand's own product page.

Do brands say their cow hooves are rawhide-free?

2 of 7 product pages literally say rawhide-free or made without rawhide: Redbarn Filled Hoof Beef Flavor; Redbarn Filled Hoof Peanut Butter Flavor. The others don't say either way, which doesn't mean they contain rawhide; check with the brand.

What do brands say about supervising dogs with cow hooves?

5 of the 7 cow hooves product pages we list include supervision or feeding wording; 2 don't say anything we could quote. 5 say to supervise or monitor your dog (Best Bully Sticks, Jack&Pup, Pawstruck). 2 say to remove or throw away small, broken or swallowable pieces (Pawstruck). 3 mention fresh water (Best Bully Sticks, Jack&Pup). These are the brands' words, not a safety rating from us; each card quotes the exact wording, and your vet knows your dog.

How often can a dog have cow hooves?

1 of the 7 cow hooves product pages we list gives a number of chews per day or week in the wording we quote. 2 say to give them in limited quantity, as an occasional or supplemental treat, or to introduce new chews slowly (Pawstruck). For how often your own dog should have one, ask your vet; we don't give feeding advice.

At a glance: made-in, sourcing, rawhide-free and options for 7 cow hooves

Each cell is the brand's own wording from its product page, the same text as the product card below. "Not stated" means the page doesn't say, so check with the brand.
Brand / productMade-in claimSourced-from claimRawhide-free (as stated)Options on the brand page
Best Bully Sticks
100% Natural Cow Hooves Dog Chews (25 count Value Pack)
Country of Origin: AustraliaEach hoof is made from 100% natural, free range, grass fed cattleNot stated25 count Value Pack
Best Bully Sticks
Peanut Butter Stuffed Hoof (4 Pack)
Not statedNot statedNot stated4 Pack
Jack&Pup
100% Natural Cow Hooves
Not statedSourced from grass-fed free-range cattle in BrazilNot stated8 Pieces · 12 Pieces · 25 Pieces
Pawstruck
Cow Hooves for Dogs
slowly oven-roasted in the USAsourced from USDA-approved facilitiesNot stated10 Hooves · 25 Hooves
Pawstruck
Filled Cow Hooves - Peanut Butter
slow-baked in the USAsourced from USDA-approved facilitiesNot stated5 Hooves
Redbarn
Filled Hoof Beef Flavor
Made in the USA with Globally Sourced IngredientsMade in the USA with Globally Sourced IngredientsNo Rawhide2 pack · Case of 25
Redbarn
Filled Hoof Peanut Butter Flavor
Made in the USA with Globally Sourced IngredientsMade in the USA with Globally Sourced IngredientsNo Rawhide2 pack · Case of 25

All chews grouped by dog size and chewer type, in each brand's words →

Other chew types we list

All 7 cow hooves we list, with what each brand's page says

Cow hooves

Best Bully Sticks: 100% Natural Cow Hooves Dog Chews (25 count Value Pack)

Ingredients (as listed)
Ingredients: Natural Cow Hooves
Made-in claim
Country of Origin: Australia
Sourced-from claim
Each hoof is made from 100% natural, free range, grass fed cattle
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Size: Approximately 2-4 inches wide and 4-6 inches in length · please limit your dog to 1 per day
Supervision note
Please supervise your dog when giving any chew or treat and ensure your pup has easy access to fresh water before, during, and after treat consumption.
Guaranteed analysis (brand label)
Crude Protein (Min.): 86.00% · Crude Fat (Max.): 1.03% · Crude Fiber (Max.): 3.63% · Moisture (Max.): 8.50%
Options on the page
  • 25 count Value Pack
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-11-04

Report a change

Cow hooves

Best Bully Sticks: Peanut Butter Stuffed Hoof (4 Pack)

Ingredients (as listed)
Ingredients Beef Shin Bone, Beef Meal, Vegetable Glycerin, Natural Peanut Butter Flavor, Lecithin, Mixed Tocopherols (Preservative), Vinegar (Preservative)
Made-in claim
Not stated, check with them
Sourced-from claim
Not stated, check with them
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
If you're the pup parent of a power chewer
Supervision note
Please supervise your dog when giving any chew or treat and ensure your pup has easy access to fresh water before, during, and after treat consumption.
Guaranteed analysis (brand label)
Crude Fat Min 0.5% · Crude Fiber Max 3.0% · Crude Protein Min 20.0% · Moisture Max 15.0%
Options on the page
  • 4 Pack
Note
The page's ingredient list starts with beef shin bone, not hoof, although the product is sold as a stuffed cow hoof. It lists Calories Each 150 and 3000 kcal/kg.
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-11-04

Report a change

Cow hooves

Jack&Pup: 100% Natural Cow Hooves

Ingredients (as listed)
Made from 100% natural cow hoof
Made-in claim
Not stated, check with them
Sourced-from claim
Sourced from grass-fed free-range cattle in Brazil
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Choose chews appropriate for your dog's size and chewing ability to prevent choking hazards. · Not suitable for puppies under 3 months old. · Ideal for medium & heavy chewers
Supervision note
Always supervise your dog while chewing and provide fresh water.
Guaranteed analysis (brand label)
CRUDE PROTEIN (min) 75% · CRUDE FAT (min) 1% · CRUDE FIBER (max) 4% · MOISTURE (max) 20%
Options on the page
  • 8 Pieces
  • 12 Pieces
  • 25 Pieces
Note
The same page's FAQ names a different minimum puppy age (6 months and older) from the feeding instructions (under 3 months).
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-11-04

Report a change

Cow hooves

Pawstruck: Cow Hooves for Dogs

Ingredients (as listed)
Made from 100% natural cow hooves
Made-in claim
slowly oven-roasted in the USA
Sourced-from claim
sourced from USDA-approved facilities
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Not stated, check with them
Supervision note
Natural hooves may splinter or break causing injury. Supervise use and feed in limited quantity if your pet is not used to this chew. If hoof should splinter or break remove immediately.
Guaranteed analysis (brand label)
Not stated, check with them
Options on the page
  • 10 Hooves
  • 25 Hooves
Note
The page's spec list reads Made in: USA, Brazil, Colombia, while the description says oven-roasted in the USA. Dimensions listed: 4" x 2.5" x 3". Shelf life stated as 36 months.
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-11-04

Report a change

Cow hooves

Pawstruck: Filled Cow Hooves - Peanut Butter

Ingredients (as listed)
Natural Beef Hoof. Filling: Corn Syrup, Beef Broth, Chicken Meal, Sugar, Beef Fat (Preserved with Mixed Tocopherols), Salt, Propylene Glycol, Peanut Butter (Peanuts, Dextrose, Vegetable Oil, Salt), Peanut Butter Flavor
Made-in claim
slow-baked in the USA
Sourced-from claim
sourced from USDA-approved facilities
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Perfect for light to medium chewers
Supervision note
Natural hooves may splinter or break causing injury. Supervise use and feed in limited quantity if your pet is not used to this chew. If hoof should splinter or break remove immediately.
Guaranteed analysis (brand label)
Not stated, check with them
Options on the page
  • 5 Hooves
Note
The page lists Calories: 149 per Filled Hoof and a shelf life of up to 36 months.
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-11-04

Report a change

Cow hooves

Redbarn: Filled Hoof Beef Flavor

Ingredients (as listed)
Premium Beef Hoof. Filling: Corn Syrup, Beef Broth, Chicken Meal, Sugar, Beef Fat (Preserved with Mixed Tocopherols), Salt, Propylene Glycol, Agar-Agar, Vegetable Glycerin, Potassium Sorbate
Made-in claim
Made in the USA with Globally Sourced Ingredients
Sourced-from claim
Made in the USA with Globally Sourced Ingredients
Rawhide-free?
No Rawhide
Size / dog guidance
Not stated, check with them
Supervision note
Not stated, check with them
Guaranteed analysis (brand label)
Crude Protein: 50% Min · Crude Fat: 2% Min · Crude Fiber: 2% Max · Moisture: 24% Max
Options on the page
  • 2 pack
  • Case of 25
Note
The page lists Calories: 2800 kcal/kg, 142 kcal per hoof; Weight: 1.8oz (51g); Shelf Life: 24 months.
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-11-04
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Cow hooves

Redbarn: Filled Hoof Peanut Butter Flavor

Ingredients (as listed)
Natural Beef Hoof. Filling: Corn Syrup, Beef Broth, Chicken Meal, Sugar, Beef Fat (Preserved with Mixed Tocopherols), Salt, Propylene Glycol, Peanut Butter (Peanuts, Dextrose, Vegetable Oil, Salt), Peanut Butter Flavor, Agar-Agar, Vegetable Glycerin, Potassium Sorbate
Made-in claim
Made in the USA with Globally Sourced Ingredients
Sourced-from claim
Made in the USA with Globally Sourced Ingredients
Rawhide-free?
No Rawhide
Size / dog guidance
Not stated, check with them
Supervision note
Not stated, check with them
Guaranteed analysis (brand label)
Crude Protein: 50% Min · Crude Fat: 2% Min · Crude Fiber: 3% Max · Moisture: 24% Max
Options on the page
  • 2 pack
  • Case of 25
Note
The page lists Calories: 2927 kcal/kg, 149 kcal per hoof; Net Weight: 1.8oz (51g); Shelf Life: 24 months.
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-11-04
Check on Amazon

Report a change