Home › Bully stick vs beef tendon: the same brands, side by side

Bully stick vs beef tendon: the same brands, side by side

Bully sticks and beef tendon chews are both beef chews, but they're made from different parts of the animal. Five brands in our directory sell both, so this page puts each brand's bully stick next to its tendon chew and quotes what the pages say about ingredients, origin, calories and shelf life. Where a page is silent, we say so. We don't pick a winner; your vet can help you choose for your dog.

Last checked 2026-10-28 · page updated 2026-10-30

Each brand's bully stick and beef tendon chew

Quoted from each brand's product page, checked 2026-10-28. "Not stated" means we found nothing on that page about it.
Brand: productTypeIngredients (quoted)Origin (quoted)Calories (quoted)Shelf life (quoted)
Pawstruck: Straight Bully Sticks for Dogs (Sold by Weight)Bully stickBeef pizzleMade in: Paraguay, Brazil, Colombia, New Zealand, Peru, or TurkeyNot stated36 months
Pawstruck: Beef Tendons for DogsBeef tendonBeef tendonMade in: ParaguayNot stated36 months
Redbarn: Bully Sticks for DogsBully stickBeef Pizzle.Country of Origin: Paraguay, Brazil, Colombia, New Zealand, Peru, TurkeyCalories: N/A36 months
Redbarn: Beef TendonBeef tendonBeef Tendon.Country of Origin: ParaguayCalories: N/A36 months
Pupford: Skinny Smoky Bully StickBully stickBeef PizzleThis product is made in the USA.Metabolizable Energy: 2,625 kcal/kgNot stated
Pupford: Thick Beef Tendon Dog ChewBeef tendonBeef Achilles TendonMade in the USAAbout 170 kcal per chewNot stated
Sancho & Lola's Closet: 6-Inch Standard Charcuterie Style Bully SticksBully stickSINGLE INGREDIENT: 100% Beef Pizzle and nothing else.CHARCUTERIE: Made in the USA.Not statedNot stated
Sancho & Lola's Closet: USA Flexor Tendons - DELISH!Beef tendon100% dehydrated beef.Made in Colorado.Not statedNot stated
Sancho & Lola's Closet: USA Beef TendonsBeef tendonSingle ingredient - beef.made from American-sourced beef3400 kcal/kgNot stated
Nature Gnaws: Small Bully Sticks 6"Bully stickIngredients: Beef PizzleNot statedAbout 70 calories per chewNot stated
Nature Gnaws: Beef Tendon Wraps Durable Dental ChewsBeef tendon wrapIngredients: Beef Tendons, Beef GulletNot statedNot statedNot stated

Watch: Bully stick vs beef tendon: what the labels say (1 minute)

A 1-minute summary of the table on this page (brand pages checked 2026-10-28/29). Information, not veterinary advice. Narration is computer-generated. Watch on YouTube · Nibbables on YouTube

Read the video transcript

This beef tendon page says Made in the USA. Scroll down to its FAQ, and the same page says these chews are sourced in Colombia.

Most people treat bully sticks and tendons as the same beef chew. They're not. All five brands' bully sticks list beef pizzle. Pupford's tendon lists beef Achilles tendon, and Nature Gnaws' tendon wraps add beef gullet.

If you buy tendons because you want them made in the USA, read past the badge. Pupford's page shows Made in the USA, and its FAQ says sourced in Colombia. Redbarn shows Made in the USA with globally sourced ingredients, and lists country of origin, Paraguay.

Some pages just say it plainly. Sancho and Lola's Closet says its flexor tendons are made in Colorado. Pawstruck says made in Paraguay.

And which lasts longer? We found no study that measures it. Sancho and Lola's even says its USA beef tendons will not be long-lasting for larger dogs. Pupford says it depends on your dog's size and chewing.

Supervise every chew and ask your vet. All eleven chews from five brands, quoted word for word with sources, are at nibbables dot com.

Bully stick vs beef tendon: what's the difference?

They're made from different parts of the animal. All five brands' bully sticks list beef pizzle (Redbarn: “Beef Pizzle.”; Sancho & Lola's Closet: “SINGLE INGREDIENT: 100% Beef Pizzle and nothing else.”). Their tendon chews list tendon or beef instead: Redbarn “Beef Tendon.”, Pupford “Beef Achilles Tendon”, Sancho & Lola's Closet “Single ingredient - beef.” Not every tendon chew is tendon alone: Nature Gnaws' wraps list “Ingredients: Beef Tendons, Beef Gullet”.

What lasts longer than a bully stick?

We found no study that measures how long bully sticks or tendons last. Brand wording varies even within one brand: Sancho & Lola's Closet calls its flexor tendon “Our toughest Tendon” but says of its USA Beef Tendons that they “Will not be long-lasting for larger dogs”. Pawstruck says its tendons' “firm texture provides hours of chewing satisfaction”, and Pupford answers its own “Will this last my dog a long time?” question with “It depends on your dog's size and chewing tendencies.” How long any chew lasts depends on its size and on how your dog chews.

Do beef tendons or bully sticks have more calories?

Most of these pages don't say, and the ones that do use different units. Redbarn lists “Calories: N/A” on both its pages. Pupford gives “About 170 kcal per chew” for its thick tendon (“These chews are about 3-5 inches long.”) and “Metabolizable Energy: 2,625 kcal/kg” for its skinny bully stick (“These chews are about 6 inches long.”). Nature Gnaws gives “About 70 calories per chew” for its 6-inch bully stick, and Sancho & Lola's Closet lists “3400 kcal/kg” for its USA Beef Tendons. A per-kilogram figure doesn't tell you what one chew contains, so these numbers can't be lined up directly; our bully stick calories guide covers the published study that measured bully sticks.

Are beef tendons made in the USA?

Some brands say so and some name other countries. Sancho & Lola's Closet says its flexor tendons are “Made in Colorado.” and its USA Beef Tendons are “made from American-sourced beef”. Pupford's tendon page shows “Made in the USA”, but its FAQ answers “Where is this chew made?” with “These chews are sourced in Colombia.” Pawstruck states “Made in: Paraguay”, and Redbarn lists “Country of Origin: Paraguay” while the same page also shows “Made in the USA with Globally Sourced Ingredients”. Nature Gnaws' wraps page doesn't state a country. Read the exact quote on each card before you buy.

The same five brands, side by side

Pawstruck, Redbarn, Pupford, Sancho & Lola's Closet and Nature Gnaws each sell both a bully stick and a beef tendon chew, so the table puts each brand's pages next to each other. Pawstruck and Redbarn give the same shelf life for both their chews (“36 months”). Pawstruck's bully stick page names six possible countries and its tendon page names one (“Made in: Paraguay”).

What veterinary sources say about tendon chews

The AKC's edible chews article has a section headed “Tendons and Other Animal Parts” and describes “Backstrap and other tendon chews” as “low in fat and high in protein and collagen.” Today's Veterinary Practice lists both bully sticks and tendons under “Other body parts” in its group of “Animal-derived products that have undergone minimal processing”. Neither source ranks one over the other here; ask your vet which chew suits your dog.

What each brand says about supervision

Each brand's tendon page asks you to watch your dog except Redbarn's, where we found no supervision line. Pawstruck says “we always recommend supervision while feeding your pet any treat or chew.”, Pupford says “Please monitor your dog whenever giving them a dog chew.”, and Nature Gnaws says “Always supervise your dog while they are chewing and provide plenty of fresh water.”

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Bully sticks

Pawstruck: Straight Bully Sticks for Dogs (Sold by Weight)

Ingredients (as listed)
Beef pizzle
Made-in claim
Made in: Paraguay, Brazil, Colombia, New Zealand, Peru, or Turkey
Sourced-from claim
Sourced from high-quality South American cattle
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Choose a bully stick that is longer than your dog’s muzzle and thick enough to prevent swallowing large pieces.
Supervision note
We always recommend supervision while feeding your pet any treat or chew. Remove any large, swallowable pieces to prevent blockages.
Options on the page
  • 12in Sticks
  • 9in Sticks
  • 7in Sticks
  • 1 lbs bag
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Beef tendons

Pawstruck: Beef Tendons for Dogs

Ingredients (as listed)
Made from a single ingredient—premium beef tendon
Made-in claim
Made in: Paraguay
Sourced-from claim
We source tendons from trusted suppliers
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Recommended chew size is slightly larger than your pet’s mouth.
Supervision note
we always recommend supervision while feeding your pet any treat or chew. · remove any large, swallowable pieces to prevent blockages.
Options on the page
  • 10 Tendons
  • 50 Tendons
  • 100 Tendons
Note
The page lists dimensions as 7"-9" long.
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-28
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Bully sticks

Redbarn: Bully Sticks for Dogs

Ingredients (as listed)
Beef Pizzle.
Made-in claim
Country of Origin: Paraguay, Brazil, Colombia, New Zealand, Peru, Turkey
Sourced-from claim
Not stated, check with them
Rawhide-free?
No Rawhide
Size / dog guidance
• Power chewers: 12"+ Bully Sticks
Supervision note
Always monitor your dog while giving chews and give in limited quantity if your pet is not used to this chew. Swallowing pieces could cause choking.
Options on the page
  • 3-4"
  • 5"
  • 7"
  • 9"
  • 12"
  • 24"
  • 36" (various pack and case counts)
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Beef tendons

Redbarn: Beef Tendon

Ingredients (as listed)
Beef Tendon.
Made-in claim
Country of Origin: Paraguay
Sourced-from claim
Not stated, check with them
Rawhide-free?
No Rawhide
Size / dog guidance
All Breeds · All Life Stages
Supervision note
Not stated, check with them
Options on the page
  • 2 pack
  • Case of 50
Note
The same page also shows the line "Made in the USA with Globally Sourced Ingredients". It lists Calories as N/A and Shelf Life as 36 months. Both sizes showed as sold out when checked.
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-28

Report a change

Bully sticks

Pupford: Skinny Smoky Bully Stick

Ingredients (as listed)
Beef Pizzle
Made-in claim
This product is made in the USA.
Sourced-from claim
Not stated, check with them
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Not stated, check with them
Supervision note
Not stated, check with them
Guaranteed analysis (brand label)
Crude Protein (min): 80% Crude Fat (min): 1% Crude Fiber (max): 2% Moisture (max): 15%
Options on the page
  • 5 oz
  • 10 oz (5 oz x 2)
  • 20 oz (5 oz x 4)
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30

Report a change

Beef tendons

Pupford: Thick Beef Tendon Dog Chew

Ingredients (as listed)
Beef Achilles Tendon
Made-in claim
Made in the USA
Sourced-from claim
These chews are sourced in Colombia.
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
It depends on your dog's size and chewing tendencies.
Supervision note
Please monitor your dog whenever giving them a dog chew. · It is recommended to slowly introduce new chews to your dog's diet.
Guaranteed analysis (brand label)
Crude Protein (min): 80% Crude Fat (min): 17% Crude Fiber (max): .6% Moisture (max): 6%
Options on the page
  • 5 Pack
  • 10 Pack (5 Pack x 2)
  • 20 Pack (5 Pack x 4)
Note
The page's FAQ answers "Where is this chew made?" with "These chews are sourced in Colombia." It states "About 170 kcal per chew" and "These chews are about 3-5 inches long."
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-28

Report a change

Bully sticks

Sancho & Lola's Closet: 6-Inch Standard Charcuterie Style Bully Sticks - No odor-Made in the USA

Ingredients (as listed)
SINGLE INGREDIENT: 100% Beef Pizzle and nothing else.
Made-in claim
CHARCUTERIE: Made in the USA.
Sourced-from claim
Sourced and Made in the USA
Rawhide-free?
They will never contain any rawhide.
Size / dog guidance
LIGHT CHEWERS: our 6" Standards will average .75-1.1oz in weight and are great for small dogs, medium dogs, puppies, and older dogs.
Supervision note
So, we recommend monitoring your pup when you notice they are chewing on anything.
Options on the page
  • Standard 10-Count
  • Standard 20-Count
  • Standard 40-Count
Note
"Sourced and Made in the USA" is in the page title; the product description says "Made in the USA". The rawhide line is from the founder's note on the page, about all of the brand's chews.
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30

Report a change

Beef tendons

Sancho & Lola's Closet: USA Flexor Tendons - DELISH!

Ingredients (as listed)
100% dehydrated beef. Single-ingredient DIGESTIBLE chew.
Made-in claim
Made in Colorado.
Sourced-from claim
Not stated, check with them
Rawhide-free?
They will never contain any rawhide.
Size / dog guidance
MEDIUM -LARGE DOGS 25+: Tendons are 4"- 5" · MODERATE TO POWER CHEWER
Supervision note
So, we recommend monitoring your pup when you notice they are chewing on anything.
Options on the page
  • 10oz (6-9 Count)
  • 2 LB BULK (16-22)
  • 4 LBS BULK (32-44 Count)
Note
The rawhide line is from the brand's general FAQ text on the page.
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-28

Report a change

Beef tendons

Sancho & Lola's Closet: USA Beef Tendons

Ingredients (as listed)
Single ingredient - beef.
Made-in claim
Not stated, check with them
Sourced-from claim
gourmet dog chews made from American-sourced beef
Rawhide-free?
They will never contain any rawhide.
Size / dog guidance
Will not be long-lasting for larger dogs
Supervision note
So, we recommend monitoring your pup when you notice they are chewing on anything.
Guaranteed analysis (brand label)
Crude Protein: Min 78% * Crude Fat: Min 7.0% * Crude Fiber: Max 2.0% * Moisture: Max 13%
Options on the page
  • 8oz bag
  • 16oz (2 x 8oz bags)
  • 24oz (3x 8oz bags)
Note
The page says "Hoping to have these delicious Tendons back in stock mid November or sooner" and describes "Various shapes and sizes (9" -11"). Approx. 7-8 Tendons".
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-28

Report a change

Bully sticks

Nature Gnaws: Small Bully Sticks 6"

Ingredients (as listed)
Ingredients: Beef Pizzle
Made-in claim
Not stated, check with them
Sourced-from claim
We source from Europe, The Americas and Nepal through our SQF Food Safety Program
Rawhide-free?
made from 100% natural beef pizzle, making them the perfect rawhide-free chew for puppies and small dogs
Size / dog guidance
the perfect rawhide-free chew for puppies and small dogs
Supervision note
Always supervise your dog while they are chewing and provide plenty of fresh water.
Options on the page
  • 5 count
  • 15 count
Note
The sourcing line is the brand's general statement shown on the product page, not specific to this item.
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Beef tendons

Nature Gnaws: Beef Tendon Wraps Durable Dental Chews

Ingredients (as listed)
Ingredients: Beef Tendons, Beef Gullet
Made-in claim
Not stated, check with them
Sourced-from claim
responsibly sourced
Rawhide-free?
these grain-free, gluten-free, and rawhide-free chews
Size / dog guidance
perfect for power chewers and teething puppies of medium and large breeds
Supervision note
Always supervise your dog while they are chewing and provide plenty of fresh water. · remove any small, broken, or splintered pieces, and be sure to choose the appropriate size chew.
Options on the page
  • 5 Count
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-28
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Sources

Related on Nibbables