Home › How long do bully sticks last? Shelf life, storage and the last piece, quoted

How long do bully sticks last? Shelf life, storage and the last piece, quoted

People ask three different things about how long a bully stick lasts: how long an unopened bag keeps, how to store one your dog has started, and when to take the last piece away. Most brand product pages don't answer the first two, and the brands that do don't always agree. Below, each of the 18 bully stick product pages in our directory is quoted side by side, followed by what guides from Redbarn and three other bully stick sellers, and the FDA, say. Nibbables hasn't tested storage methods or timed any chews; follow the date and instructions on your bag, and ask your vet if you're unsure.

Last checked 2026-10-26 · page updated 2026-10-30

Shelf life, storage and last-piece wording on 18 bully stick pages

Quoted from each brand's product page, checked 2026-10-26. "Not stated" means that page doesn't say.
Brand: productShelf life (quoted)Storage (quoted)Last or broken pieces (quoted)
Campfire Treats: Standard Odor-Free Bully Sticks (8-10 Inch)Not statedStore in a cool, dry place. Reseal bag after opening.Not stated
Campfire Treats: Thin Odor-Free Bully Sticks (4-6 Inch)Not statedStore in a cool, dry place. Reseal bag after opening.Not stated
GREAT DOG CO.: 12" Beef Bully Stick, Jumbo SizeNot statedNot statedSmall pieces can become a choking hazard.
GREAT DOG CO.: Bison Pizzle (Bison Bully Sticks)Not statedNot statedSmall pieces can become a choking hazard.
GREAT DOG CO.: Thin Bully Sticks, 12" Steer PizzleNot statedNot statedSmall pieces can become a choking hazard.
Best Bully Sticks: 6-Inch Thin Bully StickNot statedNot statedremove small or broken pieces to prevent your pup from choking · Examine the bully stick for wear after each use, and discard it if it has become small enough to present a choking hazard.
Best Bully Sticks: 12-Inch Standard USA-Baked Odor-Free Bully StickNot statedNot statedremove small or broken pieces to prevent your pup from choking · Examine the bully stick for wear after each use, and discard it if it has become small enough to present a choking hazard.
Jack&Pup: Bully Sticks, 6 inch StandardProperly stored chews will maintain their quality and freshness for months.Store all chews in a cool, dry place away from direct sunlight. Keep them in their original packaging or an airtight container.Remove the chew if it becomes small enough to swallow or breaks into pieces.
Bow Wow Labs: SafeFit Bully SticksNot statedNot statedThe Bow Wow Buddy Safety Device secures bully sticks to help prevent dogs from choking on or swallowing the last bit of the chew.
Pawstruck: Straight Bully Sticks (Sold by Weight)Shelf Life: 36 monthsNot statedRemove any large, swallowable pieces to prevent blockages.
Nature Gnaws: Small Bully Sticks 6"Not statedNot statedremove any small, broken, or splintered pieces
Redbarn: Bully Sticks for DogsShelf Life: 36 monthsNot statedAlways supervise chewing and remove small end pieces.
Mighty Paw: All-Natural Bully SticksNot statedNot statedNot stated
Pupford: Skinny Smoky Bully StickNot statedNot statedNot stated
Raw Paws Pet Food: Standard Bully Sticks, 6-inchNot statedNot statedIf this chew splinters, develops sharp edges or breaks into pieces throw it away immediately.
Sancho & Lola's Closet: 6-Inch Standard Charcuterie Style Bully SticksNot statedNot statedNot stated
Jack's Premium: 5-8" Thin Bully SticksNot statedNot statedNot stated
Bully Bunches: 6 Inch Standard Bully StickShelf life of 1-2 years.Not statedNot stated

Watch: Do bully sticks go bad? The quotes in under a minute

A short summary of this page (brand pages and guides checked 2026-10-26). These are the brands' claims, not ours. Narration is computer-generated. Watch on YouTube · Nibbables on YouTube

Read the video transcript

Do bully sticks go bad? Here's what eighteen product pages and four seller guides say.

Only four of the eighteen product pages state a shelf life. Redbarn and Pawstruck say thirty-six months. Bully Bunches says one to two years. Jack and Pup says months.

Natural Farm's guide says to throw one out if it has fuzzy white, green or black spots, or a sour or ammonia-like smell.

Storing a chewed stick? Brands disagree. Redbarn says air dry it and don't refrigerate. Natural Farm and Bully Sticks Direct say refrigerate it.

And the last piece? Redbarn says take it away once it can be swallowed whole, about two and a half to three inches in most cases.

Every brand's exact wording is at nibbables dot com. Check the date on your bag, follow the brand you bought, and ask your vet if you're unsure.

Do bully sticks go bad?

Yes, according to the brands that address it. Natural Farm's guide says “Unopened bully sticks last 2-3 years when stored in a cool, dry place below 80°F.” and lists signs to throw one out, including “Mold. White, green, or black fuzzy spots anywhere on the surface.” and “If a stick develops a sour or ammonia-like smell after chewing, it's gone bad. Discard it.” Natural Farm also says: “Always check the best-by date on the bag.”

How long can you keep a bully stick?

Only 4 of the 18 bully stick product pages in our directory state a shelf life: Pawstruck and Redbarn each say “Shelf Life: 36 months”, Bully Bunches says “Shelf life of 1-2 years.”, and Jack&Pup says only “Properly stored chews will maintain their quality and freshness for months.” The other 14 pages don't say. Two seller guides give ranges for unopened sticks: Natural Farm says 2-3 years, and Bully Sticks Direct says “~18–24 months typical; up to 2–3 years under ideal conditions.” The date printed on your bag is the brand's own answer for that batch.

Should you refrigerate a bully stick after your dog chews it?

Brands disagree. Redbarn's guide says to “let the bully stick air dry”, then “store the bully stick in a cool, dry place where your pet can’t reach, like a high cabinet or pantry shelf”, and adds: “We do not recommend refrigeration as the moisture could potentially attract bacteria.” Natural Farm says the opposite for a chewed stick: “Once your dog starts chewing one, seal it in an airtight bag, refrigerate, and use within a week.” Bully Sticks Direct says: “Dry and refrigerate chewed sticks, and discard after a couple of days.” Natural Farm and Bully Sticks Direct both sell bully sticks. Follow the brand you bought, and ask your vet if unsure.

How long should a bully stick last a dog?

None of the 18 product pages we list says how many minutes or days one stick should last. Brutus & Barnaby, a bully stick seller, writes: “Most dogs should chew a bully stick for about 10 to 30 minutes at a time, depending on their size, chewing style, experience level, and stomach sensitivity” and “If your dog is new to bully sticks, start with a short session: 10 to 15 minutes”. Nibbables hasn't timed any chews.

When to take a bully stick away?

Redbarn's guide says: “Take the bully stick away and discard it once it can be swallowed whole (about 2.5 - 3 inches in most cases).” Brutus & Barnaby says: “When the stick gets small enough to swallow, it is time to take it away”. On the product pages, 11 of 18 say something about the last or broken pieces (see the table): for example Jack&Pup says “Remove the chew if it becomes small enough to swallow or breaks into pieces.” and Raw Paws Pet Food says “If this chew splinters, develops sharp edges or breaks into pieces throw it away immediately.”

Bully stick holders for the last piece

Redbarn's guide mentions holders: “Some pet owners also use bully stick holders to ensure that their dogs are not able to consume the last portion of a bully stick.” Bow Wow Labs sells one and describes it on its bully stick page (quoted in the table). Nibbables hasn't tested any holder.

What the FDA says about storing dry pet food and treats

The FDA's pet food handling tips aren't specific to bully sticks, but they cover dry pet food: “Store dry pet food in a cool and dry place. The temperature should be less than 80 F.” and “Store dry pet food in its original bag and keep the top of the bag tightly folded down.” The FDA also says to “wash your hands for at least 20 seconds with soap and hot water” before and after handling pet food and treats.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Some brand-page links for Raw Paws Pet Food are CJ Affiliate links: if you buy through them, Nibbables earns a commission at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure.

Bully sticks

Campfire Treats: Standard Odor-Free Bully Sticks (8-10 Inch)

Ingredients (as listed)
Ingredients: Dehydrated beef pizzles
Made-in claim
Sourced and made in the USA
Sourced-from claim
Sourced and made in the USA
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Puppy, young, adult, senior
Supervision note
This product is intended for intermittent or supplemental feeding only. Always supervise your dog when feeding any treats or chews. Please ensure that your dog has always access to plenty of fresh water.
Guaranteed analysis (brand label)
Crude Protein (min.) | 88% | Crude Fat (min.) | 7% | Crude Fiber (max.) | 0% | Moisture (max.) | 11%
Options on the page
  • Pack of 5
  • Pack of 10
  • Pack of 20
  • Pack of 40
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30

Report a change

Bully sticks

Campfire Treats: Thin Odor-Free Bully Sticks (4-6 Inch)

Ingredients (as listed)
Ingredients: Dehydrated beef pizzles
Made-in claim
Sourced and made in the USA
Sourced-from claim
Sourced and made in the USA
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Perfectly sized for small dogs and puppies
Supervision note
This product is intended for intermittent or supplemental feeding only. Always supervise your dog when feeding any treats or chews. Please ensure that your dog has always access to plenty of fresh water.
Guaranteed analysis (brand label)
Crude Protein (min.) | 88% | Crude Fat (min.) | 7% | Crude Fiber (max.) | 0% | Moisture (max.) | 11%
Options on the page
  • Pack of 5
  • Pack of 10
  • Pack of 20
  • Pack of 40
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-25

Report a change

Bully sticks

GREAT DOG CO.: 12" Beef Bully Stick – Beef Pizzle 4.0, Jumbo Size

Ingredients (as listed)
US sourced beef bull pizzle
Made-in claim
Proudly sourced and made in the USA
Sourced-from claim
Made from 100% U.S.-sourced beef bull pizzle
Rawhide-free?
Low odor , rawhide-free, and fully digestible
Size / dog guidance
Perfect for Strong Chewers – Dense, long-lasting chew time for medium to large dogs.
Supervision note
ALWAYS SUPERVISE FEEDING: Recommendations are suggestions only. Small pieces can become a choking hazard. Feed pieces appropriate for your dog's size, age, health state and eating behavior.
Options on the page
  • 12-inch beef pizzle stick weighing 4.0–4.9 ounces (single listing)
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30

Report a change

Bully sticks

GREAT DOG CO.: Bison Pizzle (Bison Bully Sticks) – 5, 6 Inch Sticks

Ingredients (as listed)
US sourced bison pizzle
Made-in claim
Made entirely in the USA in a certified human-grade facility
Sourced-from claim
Made from 100% free-range, grass-fed American bison
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Ideal for dogs of all sizes and especially great for power chewers or pups with food sensitivities
Supervision note
ALWAYS SUPERVISE FEEDING: Recommendations are suggestions only. Small pieces can become a choking hazard. Feed pieces appropriate for your dog's size, age, health state and eating behavior.
Guaranteed analysis (brand label)
Crude Protein 85% (min); Crude Fat 2% (min); Crude Fiber 4% (max); Moisture 13%
Options on the page
  • 5 sticks, 6 inch (single listing)
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-25
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Bully sticks

GREAT DOG CO.: Thin Bully Sticks – 12" Steer Pizzle, 11 oz

Ingredients (as listed)
US sourced beef steer pizzle
Made-in claim
Sourced from U.S. steer and made in the USA
Sourced-from claim
Responsibly Sourced – From Midwest family farms, free of antibiotics and growth promotants.
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Perfect for Smaller Dogs – Long-lasting chew sized for smaller breeds or gentle chewers.
Supervision note
ALWAYS SUPERVISE FEEDING: Recommendations are suggestions only. Small pieces can become a choking hazard. Feed pieces appropriate for your dog's size, age, health state and eating behavior.
Options on the page
  • 12-inch thin sticks, 11 oz (single listing)
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-25

Report a change

Bully sticks

Best Bully Sticks: 6-Inch Thin Bully Stick

Ingredients (as listed)
made from a single ingredient: beef pizzle
Made-in claim
Not stated, check with them
Sourced-from claim
sourced from trusted free-range cattle farmers around the world
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Size does matter! To avoid accidental swallowing that may result in choking or blockages, always choose a bully stick that's wider than your dog's mouth. When in doubt, select a larger size.
Supervision note
Always supervise your dog when they're enjoying a bully stick, and remove small or broken pieces to prevent your pup from choking. It's also important to provide access to fresh water before, during, and after treat consumption.
Options on the page
  • 6 Pack
  • 15 Pack
  • 25 Pack
  • 50 Pack
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Bully sticks

Best Bully Sticks: 12-Inch Standard USA-Baked Odor-Free Bully Stick

Ingredients (as listed)
Ingredients Beef Pizzle
Made-in claim
This 12-Inch Standard Bully Stick is USA-baked and odor-free.
Sourced-from claim
Not stated, check with them
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Size does matter! To avoid accidental swallowing that may result in choking or blockages, always choose a bully stick that's wider than your dog's mouth. When in doubt, select a larger size.
Supervision note
Always supervise your dog when they're enjoying a bully stick, and remove small or broken pieces to prevent your pup from choking. It's also important to provide access to fresh water before, during, and after treat consumption.
Options on the page
  • 6 Pack
  • 15 Pack
  • 25 Pack
  • 50 Pack
Note
The page says USA-baked; it does not say where the beef comes from.
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-25

Report a change

Bully sticks

Jack&Pup: Bully Sticks - 6 inch Standard

Ingredients (as listed)
100% Beef Pizzle
Made-in claim
Not stated, check with them
Sourced-from claim
Made from all-natural beef - grass-fed cattle from Brazil
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Standard thickness bully stick for moderate chewers.
Supervision note
Feeding instructions: Always supervise your dog while chewing and provide fresh water. Choose chews appropriate for your dog's size and chewing ability to prevent choking hazards.
Guaranteed analysis (brand label)
CRUDE PROTEIN (min) 75% CRUDE FAT (min) 14.5% CRUDE FIBER (max) 3.5% MOISTURE (max) 3.5%
Options on the page
  • 5 Pieces
  • 7 Pieces
  • 25 Pieces
  • 50 Pieces
Note
The same page also says the beef is from "free-range South American cows".
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Bully sticks

Bow Wow Labs: SafeFit Bully Sticks

Ingredients (as listed)
Ingredients: 100% Beef Pizzle
Made-in claim
Not stated, check with them
Sourced-from claim
Sourced from Brazil, Argentina, the USA, & Turkey
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Midsize dogs under 30 lbs · Thick dogs 31–50 lbs · Jumbo dogs 51+ lbs
Supervision note
Not stated, check with them
Guaranteed analysis (brand label)
Crude Protein (min): 80% Crude Fat (min): 2% Crude Fiber (max): 3% Moisture (max): 14%
Options on the page
  • Hand-Selected 6"
  • Hand-Selected 10" - 12"
  • Midsize / Thick / Jumbo
  • 10 or 20 pack
Note
The page's FAQ says the sticks "are packaged in the US".
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Bully sticks

Pawstruck: Straight Bully Sticks for Dogs (Sold by Weight)

Ingredients (as listed)
Beef pizzle
Made-in claim
Made in: Paraguay, Brazil, Colombia, New Zealand, Peru, or Turkey
Sourced-from claim
Sourced from high-quality South American cattle
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Choose a bully stick that is longer than your dog’s muzzle and thick enough to prevent swallowing large pieces.
Supervision note
We always recommend supervision while feeding your pet any treat or chew. Remove any large, swallowable pieces to prevent blockages.
Options on the page
  • 12in Sticks
  • 9in Sticks
  • 7in Sticks
  • 1 lbs bag
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Bully sticks

Nature Gnaws: Small Bully Sticks 6"

Ingredients (as listed)
Ingredients: Beef Pizzle
Made-in claim
Not stated, check with them
Sourced-from claim
We source from Europe, The Americas and Nepal through our SQF Food Safety Program
Rawhide-free?
made from 100% natural beef pizzle, making them the perfect rawhide-free chew for puppies and small dogs
Size / dog guidance
the perfect rawhide-free chew for puppies and small dogs
Supervision note
Always supervise your dog while they are chewing and provide plenty of fresh water.
Options on the page
  • 5 count
  • 15 count
Note
The sourcing line is the brand's general statement shown on the product page, not specific to this item.
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Bully sticks

Redbarn: Bully Sticks for Dogs

Ingredients (as listed)
Beef Pizzle.
Made-in claim
Country of Origin: Paraguay, Brazil, Colombia, New Zealand, Peru, Turkey
Sourced-from claim
Not stated, check with them
Rawhide-free?
No Rawhide
Size / dog guidance
• Power chewers: 12"+ Bully Sticks
Supervision note
Always monitor your dog while giving chews and give in limited quantity if your pet is not used to this chew. Swallowing pieces could cause choking.
Options on the page
  • 3-4"
  • 5"
  • 7"
  • 9"
  • 12"
  • 24"
  • 36" (various pack and case counts)
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Bully sticks

Mighty Paw: All-Natural Bully Sticks

Ingredients (as listed)
Ingredients: Beef
Made-in claim
Not stated, check with them
Sourced-from claim
Indulge your pup with the finest treats sourced from grass-fed, free-range beef in Colombia.
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
We recommend our Standard Bully Sticks for light chewers, Thick Bully Sticks for Heavy Chewers, and Jumbo Bully Sticks for Aggressive Chewers.
Supervision note
Not stated, check with them
Guaranteed analysis (brand label)
Crude Protein (min): 65% Crude Fat (min): 2% Crude Fiber (max): 3% Moisture (max): 18%
Options on the page
  • Variety Pack (10 Pack)
  • Standard 12" (5 Pack)
  • Thick 12" (5 Pack)
  • Jumbo 12" (5 Pack)
Note
The same page also says "Our Bully Sticks are sourced from grass-fed, free-range beef in Brazil" and that they are hand-inspected in Rochester, NY. Ask the brand which applies.
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Bully sticks

Pupford: Skinny Smoky Bully Stick

Ingredients (as listed)
Beef Pizzle
Made-in claim
This product is made in the USA.
Sourced-from claim
Not stated, check with them
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Not stated, check with them
Supervision note
Not stated, check with them
Guaranteed analysis (brand label)
Crude Protein (min): 80% Crude Fat (min): 1% Crude Fiber (max): 2% Moisture (max): 15%
Options on the page
  • 5 oz
  • 10 oz (5 oz x 2)
  • 20 oz (5 oz x 4)
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30

Report a change

Bully sticks

Raw Paws Pet Food: Standard Bully Sticks, 6-inch - 10-ct

Ingredients (as listed)
Single-ingredient: Bull Pizzle!
Made-in claim
Origin: Turkey.
Sourced-from claim
Sourced from free-range cattle raised without antibiotics, steroids, or added hormones.
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Ideal for Small to Medium Dogs.
Supervision note
To prevent injury and choking hazard, always supervise your pet when giving any chew. If this chew splinters, develops sharp edges or breaks into pieces throw it away immediately.
Options on the page
  • 6-inch, 10-ct (single listing)
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30
Check at Raw Paws Check on Amazon

Report a change

Bully sticks

Sancho & Lola's Closet: 6-Inch Standard Charcuterie Style Bully Sticks - No odor-Made in the USA

Ingredients (as listed)
SINGLE INGREDIENT: 100% Beef Pizzle and nothing else.
Made-in claim
CHARCUTERIE: Made in the USA.
Sourced-from claim
Sourced and Made in the USA
Rawhide-free?
They will never contain any rawhide.
Size / dog guidance
LIGHT CHEWERS: our 6" Standards will average .75-1.1oz in weight and are great for small dogs, medium dogs, puppies, and older dogs.
Supervision note
So, we recommend monitoring your pup when you notice they are chewing on anything.
Options on the page
  • Standard 10-Count
  • Standard 20-Count
  • Standard 40-Count
Note
"Sourced and Made in the USA" is in the page title; the product description says "Made in the USA". The rawhide line is from the founder's note on the page, about all of the brand's chews.
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30

Report a change

Bully sticks

Jack's Premium: 5-8" Thin Bully Sticks

Ingredients (as listed)
100% Bovine Steer Pizzle
Made-in claim
Jack’s Premium Bully Sticks are a longer lasting treat sourced and made in the USA.
Sourced-from claim
We source all our cattle from small farms, not feeder stock cattle.
Rawhide-free?
They are bone and rawhide free.
Size / dog guidance
Bully Sticks for Small Dogs · Light Chewer
Supervision note
Not stated, check with them
Options on the page
  • 1 Stick
  • 12 Sticks
  • 25 Sticks
Note
Listed as 5-8 inches in length, 1-2 ounces per stick.
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30

Report a change

Bully sticks

Bully Bunches: 6 Inch Standard Bully Stick

Ingredients (as listed)
100% Beef Pizzle · Single Ingredient (beef).
Made-in claim
Packaged in the USA; product of Brazil, Turkey or Colombia.
Sourced-from claim
Made from free-range, grass-fed cattle.
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Our 6-inch standard bully sticks are ideal for small to medium-sized dogs and are a great introductory chew option!
Supervision note
Supervision is recommended when feeding any Bully Bunches chew to your dog. Make sure there is adequate fresh drinking water during consumption.
Options on the page
  • 1 Stick
  • 18 Pack
  • 36 Pack
  • 72 Pack
Note
The page also says "Shelf life of 1-2 years."
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Sources

Related on Nibbables