Home › Bully stick vs rawhide: what veterinary sources and 14 brands say

Bully stick vs rawhide: what veterinary sources and 14 brands say

Bully sticks and rawhide are made from different parts of the animal and go through different processing, according to the veterinary sources quoted below. This page puts those definitions next to what 14 bully stick brands' own product pages say about rawhide, word for word. Five pages say their stick is rawhide-free or has no rawhide, five more describe it as an alternative to rawhide or compare it with rawhide, and four don't mention rawhide at all. Nibbables doesn't rate chews; ask your vet what suits your dog.

Last checked 2026-10-30

What each bully stick page says about rawhide

Quoted from each brand's product page, checked 2026-10-30. "Not stated" means the brand's own text on that page doesn't mention rawhide (Campfire's page mentions it only in a customer review, which we don't quote).
Brand: productWhat it's made from (quoted)What the page says about rawhide (quoted)Origin (quoted)
Campfire Treats: Standard Odor-Free Bully Sticks (8-10 Inch)Ingredients: Dehydrated beef pizzlesNot statedSourced and made in the USA
GREAT DOG CO.: 12" Beef Bully Stick – Beef Pizzle 4.0, Jumbo SizeUS sourced beef bull pizzlethis low-odor, rawhide-free treat provides long-lasting chewing satisfactionProudly sourced and made in the USA
Best Bully Sticks: 6-Inch Thin Bully Stickmade from a single ingredient: beef pizzleEasily digestible rawhide alternative that's high in proteinsourced from trusted free-range cattle farmers around the world
Jack&Pup: Bully Sticks - 6 inch Standard100% Beef PizzleExcellent alternative to rawhideMade from all-natural beef - grass-fed cattle from Brazil
Bow Wow Labs: SafeFit Bully SticksIngredients: 100% Beef PizzleSmart alternative to rawhideSourced from Brazil, Argentina, the USA, & Turkey
Pawstruck: Straight Bully Sticks for Dogs (Sold by Weight)Beef pizzleMany pet parents prefer bully sticks over rawhide because bully sticks are natural, fully digestible, and made from a single ingredient, while rawhide can be harder to digest.Made in: Paraguay, Brazil, Colombia, New Zealand, Peru, or Turkey
Nature Gnaws: Small Bully Sticks 6"Ingredients: Beef Pizzlethe perfect rawhide-free chew for puppies and small dogsWe source from Europe, The Americas and Nepal
Redbarn: Bully Sticks for DogsBeef Pizzle.No Rawhide · Unlike rawhide, bully sticks are digestible when fed appropriately and under supervision.Country of Origin: Paraguay, Brazil, Colombia, New Zealand, Peru, Turkey
Mighty Paw: All-Natural Bully SticksIngredients: BeefNot statedsourced from grass-fed, free-range beef in Colombia
Pupford: Skinny Smoky Bully StickBeef PizzleNot statedThis product is made in the USA.
Raw Paws Pet Food: Standard Bully Sticks, 6-inch - 10-ctSingle-ingredient: Bull Pizzle!Not statedOrigin: Turkey.
Sancho & Lola's Closet: 6-Inch Standard Charcuterie Style Bully Sticks - No odor-Made in the USASINGLE INGREDIENT: 100% Beef Pizzle and nothing else.They will never contain any rawhide.Sourced and Made in the USA
Jack's Premium: 5-8" Thin Bully Sticks100% Bovine Steer PizzleThey are bone and rawhide free.sourced and made in the USA
Bully Bunches: 6 Inch Standard Bully Stick100% Beef Pizzleoven-baked to provide a healthy alternative to rawhidePackaged in the USA; product of Brazil, Turkey or Colombia.

Watch: Bully stick vs rawhide: the 14 brands and vet sources in 90 seconds

A 90-second summary of this page (brand pages checked 2026-10-30). Information, not veterinary advice. Narration is computer-generated. Watch on YouTube · Nibbables on YouTube

Read the video transcript

We read fourteen bully stick product pages. Only five actually say rawhide-free, or no rawhide. Five call it an alternative to rawhide. And four never mention rawhide at all.

Lots of people think a bully stick is just a fancy rawhide. It isn't. Veterinary nutritionists describe rawhide as the chemically processed inner hide layer. Tufts says bully sticks are bull or steer penises. And vets file bully sticks under minimal processing.

Here's how that article says rawhide can be made: brine, degreasers, detergents, hydrogen peroxide, lime. And glues may be added to hold the shape.

So bully sticks win, right? Not so fast. A 2013 study tested twenty-six bully sticks. One had C. difficile, one had MRSA. And they averaged fifteen calories per inch. That study didn't test rawhide.

If your dog is a power chewer, this is the part that matters. The AKC warns power chewers can break off large pieces of rawhide, and might swallow a bully stick whole. When it's down to a nub, take it away.

One more catch. The same vets say chews marketed as rawhide free are poorly regulated. In one study they cite, two of ten products tested contained skin layers, consistent with rawhide. Those weren't described as bully sticks.

Supervise every chew and ask your vet. All fourteen brands' exact words, plus the vet sources, are at nibbables dot com.

Bully stick vs rawhide for dogs: what's the difference?

The sources describe two different products. Rawhide is hide: Today's Veterinary Practice says “Rawhide chews are made from the chemically processed inner hide layer, most commonly from cows but also other animal species (e.g., pigs, sheep, even water buffalo).” A bully stick is a pizzle: Tufts' Petfoodology blog says “Bully sticks are, in fact, bull or steer penises.” Today's Veterinary Practice also files them differently, listing bully sticks under “Animal-derived products that have undergone minimal processing” and rawhides among “extensively processed animal-derived chews”. The AKC adds that “Unlike rawhide,” “bully sticks, sometimes known as pizzle sticks, are easily digestible.”

Are bully sticks rawhide?

No. None of the sources we checked calls a bully stick rawhide. The ASPCA says “Rawhide chews are manufactured from animal hides.” The 14 bully stick pages in the table list beef pizzle (or, on Mighty Paw's page, “Ingredients: Beef”) as the ingredient, and Jack's Premium spells it out: “They are made from 100% steer or bull penis, also commonly referred to as pizzle.” A 2013 study in the Canadian Veterinary Journal lists rawhide and bully sticks as separate treats: “cattle hooves or skin (i.e., rawhide chews)” and “the bull or steer penis, commonly known as “bully” or “pizzle” sticks.”

Are all bully sticks rawhide free?

Of the 14 bully stick pages we checked, 5 say so in plain words: GREAT DOG CO. (“rawhide-free”), Nature Gnaws (“rawhide-free chew”), Redbarn (“No Rawhide”), Sancho & Lola's Closet (“They will never contain any rawhide.”) and Jack's Premium (“They are bone and rawhide free.”). Five more (Best Bully Sticks, Jack&Pup, Bow Wow Labs, Pawstruck and Bully Bunches) describe their stick as an alternative to rawhide or compare it with rawhide without saying “rawhide-free”. Four pages (Campfire Treats, Mighty Paw, Pupford and Raw Paws Pet Food) don't mention rawhide in their own text. All 14 list pizzle or beef as the ingredient. If the wording matters to you, ask the brand.

Are bully sticks or rawhide better for dogs?

Nibbables doesn't rank chews, so here is what the sources say. On digestion, the AKC says “Rawhide is also difficult to digest. Pieces will pass through the digestive system whole, which is why they pose an obstruction risk.” and that bully sticks are “easily digestible”. Today's Veterinary Practice says “The digestibility of rawhide chews is often unknown or suspected to be poor”. Both have cautions: for rawhide the AKC says “Power chewers can break off large pieces.”, and for bully sticks “power chewers might bite straight through, producing large pieces that pose a choking risk, or swallow the entire stick whole.” Redbarn puts the brand view this way: “Many pet parents choose bully sticks as an alternative to rawhide because they are single-ingredient chews and digestible when fed appropriately.” Your vet knows your dog and can tell you what suits it.

How rawhide is made, as Today's Veterinary Practice describes it

The article, by two board-certified veterinary nutritionists, says: “To produce a rawhide chew, the hide may be processed in brine (salt), degreasers, detergents, sodium bicarbonate, hydrogen peroxide, lime, or other chemicals needed to remove hair or fat, kill pathogens, and improve the appearance.” It adds: “Artificial colors and flavors are often added to make the final product more palatable, and additives (e.g., glues to hold shape) may be used.”

None of the 14 bully stick pages in the table lists anything besides pizzle or beef as an ingredient. Sancho & Lola's Closet writes: “All of our chews are 100% natural and digestible. They will never contain any rawhide.” Redbarn's FAQ says: “A bully stick is a single-ingredient dog chew made from 100% beef pizzle.”

What studies say about bully sticks themselves

Rawhide isn't the only chew with open questions. The 2013 Canadian Veterinary Journal study measured bully sticks: “Mean caloric density was 15 kcal/inch (38 kcal/cm) [range: 9 to 22 kcal/inch (23 to 56 kcal/cm), 2.96 to 3.07 kcal/g].” It also reported: “Of 26 bully sticks that were tested for bacterial contamination 1 (4%) was contaminated with Clostridium difficile, 1 was contaminated with methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA), and 1 with a tetracycline resistant Escherichia coli.” The study didn't test rawhide. Our bully stick calories page lists what each brand states.

Labels and regulation

Today's Veterinary Practice notes that “Minimally processed bones, other body parts, extensively processed rawhides, and compressed rawhides are not considered “food” by the FDA and are therefore poorly regulated.” Writing about plant-based chews, it adds: “These may be marketed as “rawhide free,” but selecting a quality product is difficult because these chews are poorly regulated.” In the study it cites, “Of the 10 products tested, 2 contained skin layers (consistent with rawhides) and were therefore deemed inconsistent with their labeling.” The article doesn't name those products, and they weren't described as bully sticks.

Supervision, as the sources put it

For rawhide, the ASPCA says: “Pet parents should limit the amount of rawhide consumed at any given time and discourage consumption of significant pieces that could cause choking or gastrointestinal obstruction.” For bully sticks, the AKC says: “When your dog has chewed the stick down to a nub, take it away before they can swallow what’s left.” Best Bully Sticks: “Always supervise your dog when they're enjoying a bully stick, and remove small or broken pieces to prevent your pup from choking.” Redbarn: “Always choose a size suitable for your dog's chewing style and remove small end pieces that could become a choking hazard.” The ASPCA also “encourages guardians to actively observe their dog while chewing and to immediately consult a veterinarian if their pet consumes a chunk of chew material.”

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Some brand-page links for Raw Paws Pet Food are CJ Affiliate links: if you buy through them, Nibbables earns a commission at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure.

Bully sticks

Campfire Treats: Standard Odor-Free Bully Sticks (8-10 Inch)

Ingredients (as listed)
Ingredients: Dehydrated beef pizzles
Made-in claim
Sourced and made in the USA
Sourced-from claim
Sourced and made in the USA
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Puppy, young, adult, senior
Supervision note
This product is intended for intermittent or supplemental feeding only. Always supervise your dog when feeding any treats or chews. Please ensure that your dog has always access to plenty of fresh water.
Guaranteed analysis (brand label)
Crude Protein (min.) | 88% | Crude Fat (min.) | 7% | Crude Fiber (max.) | 0% | Moisture (max.) | 11%
Options on the page
  • Pack of 5
  • Pack of 10
  • Pack of 20
  • Pack of 40
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30

Report a change

Bully sticks

GREAT DOG CO.: 12" Beef Bully Stick – Beef Pizzle 4.0, Jumbo Size

Ingredients (as listed)
US sourced beef bull pizzle
Made-in claim
Proudly sourced and made in the USA
Sourced-from claim
Made from 100% U.S.-sourced beef bull pizzle
Rawhide-free?
Low odor , rawhide-free, and fully digestible
Size / dog guidance
Perfect for Strong Chewers – Dense, long-lasting chew time for medium to large dogs.
Supervision note
ALWAYS SUPERVISE FEEDING: Recommendations are suggestions only. Small pieces can become a choking hazard. Feed pieces appropriate for your dog's size, age, health state and eating behavior.
Options on the page
  • 12-inch beef pizzle stick weighing 4.0–4.9 ounces (single listing)
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30

Report a change

Bully sticks

Best Bully Sticks: 6-Inch Thin Bully Stick

Ingredients (as listed)
made from a single ingredient: beef pizzle
Made-in claim
Not stated, check with them
Sourced-from claim
sourced from trusted free-range cattle farmers around the world
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Size does matter! To avoid accidental swallowing that may result in choking or blockages, always choose a bully stick that's wider than your dog's mouth. When in doubt, select a larger size.
Supervision note
Always supervise your dog when they're enjoying a bully stick, and remove small or broken pieces to prevent your pup from choking. It's also important to provide access to fresh water before, during, and after treat consumption.
Options on the page
  • 6 Pack
  • 15 Pack
  • 25 Pack
  • 50 Pack
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Bully sticks

Jack&Pup: Bully Sticks - 6 inch Standard

Ingredients (as listed)
100% Beef Pizzle
Made-in claim
Not stated, check with them
Sourced-from claim
Made from all-natural beef - grass-fed cattle from Brazil
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Standard thickness bully stick for moderate chewers.
Supervision note
Feeding instructions: Always supervise your dog while chewing and provide fresh water. Choose chews appropriate for your dog's size and chewing ability to prevent choking hazards.
Guaranteed analysis (brand label)
CRUDE PROTEIN (min) 75% CRUDE FAT (min) 14.5% CRUDE FIBER (max) 3.5% MOISTURE (max) 3.5%
Options on the page
  • 5 Pieces
  • 7 Pieces
  • 25 Pieces
  • 50 Pieces
Note
The same page also says the beef is from "free-range South American cows".
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Bully sticks

Bow Wow Labs: SafeFit Bully Sticks

Ingredients (as listed)
Ingredients: 100% Beef Pizzle
Made-in claim
Not stated, check with them
Sourced-from claim
Sourced from Brazil, Argentina, the USA, & Turkey
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Midsize dogs under 30 lbs · Thick dogs 31–50 lbs · Jumbo dogs 51+ lbs
Supervision note
Not stated, check with them
Guaranteed analysis (brand label)
Crude Protein (min): 80% Crude Fat (min): 2% Crude Fiber (max): 3% Moisture (max): 14%
Options on the page
  • Hand-Selected 6"
  • Hand-Selected 10" - 12"
  • Midsize / Thick / Jumbo
  • 10 or 20 pack
Note
The page's FAQ says the sticks "are packaged in the US".
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Bully sticks

Pawstruck: Straight Bully Sticks for Dogs (Sold by Weight)

Ingredients (as listed)
Beef pizzle
Made-in claim
Made in: Paraguay, Brazil, Colombia, New Zealand, Peru, or Turkey
Sourced-from claim
Sourced from high-quality South American cattle
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Choose a bully stick that is longer than your dog’s muzzle and thick enough to prevent swallowing large pieces.
Supervision note
We always recommend supervision while feeding your pet any treat or chew. Remove any large, swallowable pieces to prevent blockages.
Options on the page
  • 12in Sticks
  • 9in Sticks
  • 7in Sticks
  • 1 lbs bag
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Bully sticks

Nature Gnaws: Small Bully Sticks 6"

Ingredients (as listed)
Ingredients: Beef Pizzle
Made-in claim
Not stated, check with them
Sourced-from claim
We source from Europe, The Americas and Nepal through our SQF Food Safety Program
Rawhide-free?
made from 100% natural beef pizzle, making them the perfect rawhide-free chew for puppies and small dogs
Size / dog guidance
the perfect rawhide-free chew for puppies and small dogs
Supervision note
Always supervise your dog while they are chewing and provide plenty of fresh water.
Options on the page
  • 5 count
  • 15 count
Note
The sourcing line is the brand's general statement shown on the product page, not specific to this item.
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Bully sticks

Redbarn: Bully Sticks for Dogs

Ingredients (as listed)
Beef Pizzle.
Made-in claim
Country of Origin: Paraguay, Brazil, Colombia, New Zealand, Peru, Turkey
Sourced-from claim
Not stated, check with them
Rawhide-free?
No Rawhide
Size / dog guidance
• Power chewers: 12"+ Bully Sticks
Supervision note
Always monitor your dog while giving chews and give in limited quantity if your pet is not used to this chew. Swallowing pieces could cause choking.
Options on the page
  • 3-4"
  • 5"
  • 7"
  • 9"
  • 12"
  • 24"
  • 36" (various pack and case counts)
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Bully sticks

Mighty Paw: All-Natural Bully Sticks

Ingredients (as listed)
Ingredients: Beef
Made-in claim
Not stated, check with them
Sourced-from claim
Indulge your pup with the finest treats sourced from grass-fed, free-range beef in Colombia.
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
We recommend our Standard Bully Sticks for light chewers, Thick Bully Sticks for Heavy Chewers, and Jumbo Bully Sticks for Aggressive Chewers.
Supervision note
Not stated, check with them
Guaranteed analysis (brand label)
Crude Protein (min): 65% Crude Fat (min): 2% Crude Fiber (max): 3% Moisture (max): 18%
Options on the page
  • Variety Pack (10 Pack)
  • Standard 12" (5 Pack)
  • Thick 12" (5 Pack)
  • Jumbo 12" (5 Pack)
Note
The same page also says "Our Bully Sticks are sourced from grass-fed, free-range beef in Brazil" and that they are hand-inspected in Rochester, NY. Ask the brand which applies.
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Bully sticks

Pupford: Skinny Smoky Bully Stick

Ingredients (as listed)
Beef Pizzle
Made-in claim
This product is made in the USA.
Sourced-from claim
Not stated, check with them
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Not stated, check with them
Supervision note
Not stated, check with them
Guaranteed analysis (brand label)
Crude Protein (min): 80% Crude Fat (min): 1% Crude Fiber (max): 2% Moisture (max): 15%
Options on the page
  • 5 oz
  • 10 oz (5 oz x 2)
  • 20 oz (5 oz x 4)
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30

Report a change

Bully sticks

Raw Paws Pet Food: Standard Bully Sticks, 6-inch - 10-ct

Ingredients (as listed)
Single-ingredient: Bull Pizzle!
Made-in claim
Origin: Turkey.
Sourced-from claim
Sourced from free-range cattle raised without antibiotics, steroids, or added hormones.
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Ideal for Small to Medium Dogs.
Supervision note
To prevent injury and choking hazard, always supervise your pet when giving any chew. If this chew splinters, develops sharp edges or breaks into pieces throw it away immediately.
Options on the page
  • 6-inch, 10-ct (single listing)
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30
Check at Raw Paws Check on Amazon

Report a change

Bully sticks

Sancho & Lola's Closet: 6-Inch Standard Charcuterie Style Bully Sticks - No odor-Made in the USA

Ingredients (as listed)
SINGLE INGREDIENT: 100% Beef Pizzle and nothing else.
Made-in claim
CHARCUTERIE: Made in the USA.
Sourced-from claim
Sourced and Made in the USA
Rawhide-free?
They will never contain any rawhide.
Size / dog guidance
LIGHT CHEWERS: our 6" Standards will average .75-1.1oz in weight and are great for small dogs, medium dogs, puppies, and older dogs.
Supervision note
So, we recommend monitoring your pup when you notice they are chewing on anything.
Options on the page
  • Standard 10-Count
  • Standard 20-Count
  • Standard 40-Count
Note
"Sourced and Made in the USA" is in the page title; the product description says "Made in the USA". The rawhide line is from the founder's note on the page, about all of the brand's chews.
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30

Report a change

Bully sticks

Jack's Premium: 5-8" Thin Bully Sticks

Ingredients (as listed)
100% Bovine Steer Pizzle
Made-in claim
Jack’s Premium Bully Sticks are a longer lasting treat sourced and made in the USA.
Sourced-from claim
We source all our cattle from small farms, not feeder stock cattle.
Rawhide-free?
They are bone and rawhide free.
Size / dog guidance
Bully Sticks for Small Dogs · Light Chewer
Supervision note
Not stated, check with them
Options on the page
  • 1 Stick
  • 12 Sticks
  • 25 Sticks
Note
Listed as 5-8 inches in length, 1-2 ounces per stick.
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30

Report a change

Bully sticks

Bully Bunches: 6 Inch Standard Bully Stick

Ingredients (as listed)
100% Beef Pizzle · Single Ingredient (beef).
Made-in claim
Packaged in the USA; product of Brazil, Turkey or Colombia.
Sourced-from claim
Made from free-range, grass-fed cattle.
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Our 6-inch standard bully sticks are ideal for small to medium-sized dogs and are a great introductory chew option!
Supervision note
Supervision is recommended when feeding any Bully Bunches chew to your dog. Make sure there is adequate fresh drinking water during consumption.
Options on the page
  • 1 Stick
  • 18 Pack
  • 36 Pack
  • 72 Pack
Note
The page also says "Shelf life of 1-2 years."
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Sources

Related on Nibbables