Home › Bully stick vs bully hide chew: what the brands' own pages say

Bully stick vs bully hide chew: what the brands' own pages say

A bully hide chew is not the same thing as a bully stick. The two brands we found selling bully hide chews on their own websites, Cadet and Rocky Ranch, both list beef hide plus bully stick (pizzle) as the ingredients, while their plain bully sticks list pizzle or beef only. The brands disagree on whether that beef hide counts as rawhide, so this page quotes both, next to how veterinary sources define rawhide. Nibbables doesn't rate chews; ask your vet what suits your dog.

Last checked 2026-10-30

Each brand's bully stick and bully hide chew

Quoted from each brand's own product page, checked 2026-10-30. "Not stated" means we found nothing on that page about it.
Brand: productTypeIngredients (quoted)What the page says about rawhide (quoted)Origin or packaging (quoted)Who it's for (quoted)
Cadet: Bully Stick Dog Chews (Extra Small, 8 Ounce)Bully stickBull PizzleNot statedInspected and tested in the USARecommended for extra small and small adult dogs
Cadet: Bully Hide Sticks All-Natural Dog ChewsBully hide stickBeef Hide, Bull PizzleWe start with the select top layer of beef hide—the most digestible cut of rawhide available.These bully hide chews are tested, hand-inspected, and packaged in the USANot stated
Rocky Ranch: 12 Inch Bully Sticks – 4 PackBully stickEvery Rocky Ranch natural bully stick is single-ingredient beef with no chemicals or bleach.Forget rawhide.Not statedBest for: Medium to large dogs, determined chewers, dogs that need a long-lasting distraction.
Rocky Ranch: Bully Hide Collagen RollBully hide roll100% Beef Hide, Beef Pizzle (Bully Stick)the perfect, digestible rawhide-free alternative · NO RAW HIDENot statedDesigned for powerful chewers who crave a challenge

Watch: Is a bully hide chew rawhide? Two brands' answers in under a minute

A 56-second summary of this page (brand pages checked 2026-10-30). Information, not veterinary advice. Narration is computer-generated. Watch on YouTube · Nibbables on YouTube

Read the video transcript

Two brands sell bully hide chews on their own websites. Both list beef hide. One calls it the most digestible cut of rawhide available. The other says no raw hide.

The name sounds like a bully stick. But Cadet's bully stick lists bull pizzle, while its Bully Hide Sticks list beef hide and bull pizzle. Rocky Ranch's roll lists one hundred percent beef hide, plus beef pizzle.

Here's the twist. Cadet's product page says it uses the select top layer of beef hide. Cadet's own beef hide article says beef hide is made from the inner layer of cattle skin. And Today's Veterinary Practice defines rawhide by that inner hide layer.

Why it matters: both brands pitch these at hard chewers. So if you're avoiding rawhide, the word bully on the bag doesn't settle it. And neither page says how its hide is processed.

Ask the brand how the hide is made, supervise every chew, and ask your vet. Both brands' exact words are at nibbables dot com.

Bully hide chews vs bully sticks: what's the difference?

The ingredient list. Cadet's bully stick page lists “Bull Pizzle”; its Bully Hide Sticks list “Beef Hide, Bull Pizzle”, and Cadet says they “combine 2 of dogs' favorite natural chews: real bully stick and premium beef hide.” Rocky Ranch's bully sticks are “single-ingredient beef”, while its Bully Hide Collagen Roll lists “100% Beef Hide, Beef Pizzle (Bully Stick)”. Both brands pitch the hide versions at harder chewers: Cadet's article says Bully Hide Sticks “keep even the heaviest chewers occupied”, and Rocky Ranch says “Dogs that quickly finish traditional bully sticks may need a tougher alternative such as a Bully Hide Collagen Roll.”

Are Cadet bully sticks rawhide?

Cadet's plain bully sticks: no, by Cadet's own description. The bully stick page lists “Bull Pizzle” as the ingredient, and Cadet's article says “bully sticks are not rawhide and are in fact quite different in how they’re sourced and prepared.” The bully stick page doesn't use the words “rawhide-free”. Cadet Bully Hide Sticks are different: Cadet says it starts with “the select top layer of beef hide—the most digestible cut of rawhide available”, so by Cadet's own words they contain rawhide.

Is a bully hide chew rawhide?

The two brands answer differently. Cadet writes “Beef hide is rawhide—but rawhide is not always beef hide.” and calls the hide in its Bully Hide Sticks “the most digestible cut of rawhide available”. Rocky Ranch lists “100% Beef Hide” in its Bully Hide Collagen Roll, yet calls it “the perfect, digestible rawhide-free alternative” and shows “NO RAW HIDE” on the page. Today's Veterinary Practice defines rawhide by the hide layer and the processing: “Rawhide chews are made from the chemically processed inner hide layer, most commonly from cows but also other animal species (e.g., pigs, sheep, even water buffalo).” Neither page describes its hide processing, so if this matters to you, ask the brand how the hide is made.

What about Cadet TORO Bully Hide Chews?

We couldn't quote them. Cadet's website had no TORO page when we checked its sitemap on 2026-10-30, and we only found TORO Bully Hide Chews on retailer listings, which Nibbables doesn't use as sources. Check the package label or ask Cadet. Cadet's own Bully Hide Sticks page is in the table above.

How each brand describes its bully hide chew

Cadet: “We start with the select top layer of beef hide—the most digestible cut of rawhide available. Next, we wrap it with 100% real bully stick and oven-roast it to bring out the irresistible bully flavor”. Its article adds: “They’re then rolled into a stick shape and oven-roasted to perfection.” The product page lists “More digestible than traditional rawhide and less odor than traditional bully sticks” and “Made from only the highest-quality grass-fed, free-range cattle”, and offers Small and Large sizes.

Rocky Ranch says its rolls “combine the irresistible taste of a bully stick with the satisfying, long-lasting durability of a premium beef hide wrap.” The page sells a “6″ Collagen and Bully Roll – 1 Pack” and a “12″ Collagen and Bully Roll – 1 Pack”, among other packs. Neither brand page names a country where the hide or pizzle comes from; Cadet says its bully hide chews are “tested, hand-inspected, and packaged in the USA”.

Top layer or inner layer of the hide?

Cadet's two pages describe the hide differently. The Bully Hide Sticks page says “the select top layer of beef hide”, and its bully sticks vs rawhide article says “the top layer of beef hide—the finest, most flavorful cut of rawhide available.” Cadet's beef hide article says “Beef hide is a type of rawhide made from the inner layer of cattle skin”. Today's Veterinary Practice describes rawhide as the “inner hide layer”. We don't know which layer is used; ask Cadet.

What veterinary sources say about hide and bully sticks

We didn't find a veterinary source that discusses bully hide chews by name. Today's Veterinary Practice lists “Other body parts (e.g., ears, trachea, lung, hooves, antlers, horns, bully sticks, tendons, masseter muscles, skin, hides)” under “Animal-derived products that have undergone minimal processing”, and separately writes: “Among products classified as extensively processed animal-derived chews are rawhides”. The AKC says “Rawhide is also difficult to digest.” and that “bully sticks, sometimes known as pizzle sticks, are easily digestible.” Neither source says how a chew combining the two should be classed. Our bully stick vs rawhide page has more of what these sources say.

Supervision, as the brands put it

Cadet's bully stick page: “Supervise the use of all edible chews to ensure that your dog does not bite off pieces too large to swallow.” Rocky Ranch's bully stick page: “However, dogs should always be supervised while chewing, and small remaining pieces should be removed to prevent choking.” and “We recommend bully sticks for any dog over 6 months old.” We found no supervision line on either brand's bully hide page. The ASPCA “encourages guardians to actively observe their dog while chewing and to immediately consult a veterinarian if their pet consumes a chunk of chew material.”

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Bully sticks

Cadet: Bully Stick Dog Chews (Extra Small, 8 Ounce)

Ingredients (as listed)
Bull Pizzle
Made-in claim
Not stated, check with them
Sourced-from claim
Bully sticks are made of 100% real beef pizzle sourced from the finest-quality cattle
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Recommended for extra small and small adult dogs
Supervision note
Supervise the use of all edible chews to ensure that your dog does not bite off pieces too large to swallow.
Options on the page
  • X-Small
  • Small
  • Large
  • Large (Extra-Thick)
Note
The page shows "Inspected and tested in the USA" but names no country where the sticks are made or sourced. The page's product data names this option "Cadet Bully Stick Dog Chews Extra Small 8 Ounce"; the same page also lists Small, Large and Extra-Thick Large options in other counts. Cadet's footer lists Best Bully Sticks among its family of brands (Central Garden & Pet).
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Bully sticks

Rocky Ranch: 12 Inch Bully Sticks – 4 Pack

Ingredients (as listed)
Every Rocky Ranch natural bully stick is single-ingredient beef with no chemicals or bleach.
Made-in claim
Not stated, check with them
Sourced-from claim
Single-source grass-fed beef, no fillers or additives.
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Best for: Medium to large dogs, determined chewers, dogs that need a long-lasting distraction. · We recommend bully sticks for any dog over 6 months old.
Supervision note
However, dogs should always be supervised while chewing, and small remaining pieces should be removed to prevent choking.
Options on the page
  • 12 Inch Bully Sticks – 4 Pack
  • 12″ Bully Stick – 1 Pack
Note
Source is Rocky Ranch's bully stick collection page, which also sells 6″ sticks (1 Pack, 6 Pack) and a 1-pound bag of small sticks. The page compares its sticks with rawhide but doesn't say "rawhide-free"; it names no country of origin.
Source
Brand's product page · checked 2026-10-30
Check on Amazon

Report a change

Sources

Related on Nibbables