Home › Bully stick vs gullet stick: the same brands, side by side
Bully stick vs gullet stick: the same brands, side by side
Bully sticks and gullet sticks are both beef chews, but brands make them from different parts of the animal. Seven brands in our directory sell both, so this page puts each brand's bully stick next to its gullet or esophagus chew and quotes what the pages say about ingredients, origin, calories and chewer type. Where a page is silent, we say so. We don't pick a winner; your vet can help you choose for your dog.
Last checked 2026-10-29 · page updated 2026-10-30
Each brand's bully stick and gullet chew
Quoted from each brand's product page, checked 2026-10-29. "Not stated" means we found nothing on that page about it.
Recommended chew size is slightly larger than your pet’s mouth.
Watch: Bully stick vs gullet stick: what the labels say (1 minute)
A 1-minute summary of the table on this page (brand pages checked 2026-10-29). Information, not veterinary advice. Narration is computer-generated. Watch on YouTube · Nibbables on YouTube
Read the video transcript
Same brand, same six-inch size, two different countries. Raw Paws lists origin Turkey for its bully sticks, and origin Colombia for its gullet sticks. We put seven brands that sell both side by side.
Most people treat gullet sticks and bully sticks as the same beef chew. They come from different parts. All seven brands' bully sticks list pizzle. Their gullet chews list gullet or esophagus. Jack's Premium explains weasand is the muscle meat that surrounds the esophagus.
And here's the catch. Not every esophagus chew is just esophagus. Redbarn's collagen wrapped esophagus stick lists collagen from beef hide first, then beef esophagus.
If your dog needs a softer chew, several brands pitch gullet that way. Jack and Pup says softer and easier to chew. Raw Paws lists chew hardness, light. Which lasts longer? We found no study that measures it.
Got a puppy? Read twice. Jack and Pup's gullet page says not suitable for puppies under three months old. The same page's FAQ says puppies six months and older. Ask your vet.
Supervise every chew and ask your vet. All fourteen chews from seven brands, quoted word for word with sources, are at nibbables dot com.
Gullet stick vs bully stick: what's the difference?
They're made from different parts of the animal. All seven brands' bully sticks list pizzle (Redbarn: “Beef Pizzle.”; Raw Paws: “Single-ingredient: Bull Pizzle!”). Their gullet chews list gullet or esophagus instead: Raw Paws “Single-ingredient: Beef Gullet!”, Nature Gnaws “Ingredients: Beef Gullet”, Sancho & Lola's Closet “Ingredients: Dehydrated Beef Weasand (Esophagus)”. Jack's Premium explains that “Weasand is the muscle meat that surrounds the esophagus.” Not every esophagus chew is esophagus alone: Redbarn's lists “Collagen (from Beef Hide), Beef Esophagus.”
What lasts longer than a bully stick?
We found no study that measures how long gullet sticks or bully sticks last. Several brands describe their gullet chews as the softer option: Jack&Pup calls its gullet sticks “a great alternative to bully sticks as they're softer and easier to chew”, Raw Paws lists “Chew Hardness: Light.”, and Best Bully Sticks says its braided gullet sticks “offer more of a challenge than a standard gullet stick, but they're not as tough as braided bully”. How long any chew lasts depends on its size and on how your dog chews.
How many calories are in a gullet stick?
Only some pages say. Best Bully Sticks lists “Calories Each 114” for its 6-inch braided gullet sticks and “Calories Each 38” for its 5-6 inch jerky gullet strips, and Nature Gnaws gives “About 45 calories per chew” for its 4-5 inch gullet chews. For bully sticks, Nature Gnaws gives “About 70 calories per chew” for its 6-inch stick and Jack's Premium says “Bully sticks contain about 15 kcal/inch for a thin stick.” The Raw Paws, Jack&Pup, Sancho & Lola's Closet, Jack's Premium and Redbarn gullet or esophagus pages we checked don't state a calorie figure. Chews differ in size and thickness, so these numbers can't be lined up directly; our bully stick calories guide covers the published study that measured bully sticks.
Gullet sticks for puppies: what do the brands say?
Nature Gnaws says its 4-5 inch gullet chews are “Ideal for moderate chewers and teething puppies and small breeds.” Jack&Pup's feeding instructions say “Not suitable for puppies under 3 months old.”, while the same page's general FAQ mentions “puppies 6 months and older”. Sancho & Lola's Closet describes its weasand strips as a “LIGHT CHEW: Ideal for young dogs, seniors and those with dental issues.” Ask your vet before giving any chew to a puppy.
Where are gullet sticks made?
Some pages name a country and most don't. Raw Paws lists “Origin: Colombia.” for its gullet sticks and “Origin: Brazil.” for its esophagus strips. Redbarn lists “Country of Origin: Paraguay, Brazil” for its collagen-wrapped esophagus stick. Jack's Premium says “Sourced & Made in USA: We never source our meat from overseas.” for its weasand. The Best Bully Sticks, Jack&Pup, Nature Gnaws and Sancho & Lola's Closet gullet pages we checked don't name a country; Best Bully Sticks says “Our beef gullet is sourced from trusted free-range cattle farmers around the world.”
The same seven brands, side by side
Raw Paws, Best Bully Sticks, Jack&Pup, Nature Gnaws, Sancho & Lola's Closet, Jack's Premium and Redbarn each sell both a bully stick and a gullet or esophagus chew, so the table puts each brand's two pages next to each other. Origins can differ within one brand: Raw Paws lists “Origin: Turkey.” for its standard bully sticks and “Origin: Colombia.” for its gullet sticks.
What veterinary sources say about gullet chews
We didn't find a veterinary source that discusses gullet or esophagus chews by name. Today's Veterinary Practice lists “Other body parts (e.g., ears, trachea, lung, hooves, antlers, horns, bully sticks, tendons, masseter muscles, skin, hides)” under “Animal-derived products that have undergone minimal processing”; esophagus isn't named in that list. The AKC notes that “different animal parts are marketed as edible dog chews.” The ASPCA recommends that people “read and follow label directions explicitly, and choose products designed for the species, size and chewing habits of their pets”. Ask your vet which chew suits your dog.
What each brand says about supervision
Most of these gullet pages ask you to watch your dog. Raw Paws says “always supervise your pet when giving any chew.”, Best Bully Sticks says “Please supervise your dog when giving any chew or treat”, Jack&Pup says “Always supervise your dog while chewing and provide fresh water.”, Nature Gnaws says “Always supervise your dog while they are chewing and provide plenty of fresh water.” and Redbarn says “Always monitor your pet while rewarding with a chew”. We found no supervision line on the Sancho & Lola's Closet or Jack's Premium weasand pages we checked.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Some brand-page links for Raw Paws Pet Food are CJ Affiliate links: if you buy through them, Nibbables earns a commission at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure.
Bully sticks
Raw Paws Pet Food: Standard Bully Sticks, 6-inch - 10-ct
Ingredients (as listed)
Single-ingredient: Bull Pizzle!
Made-in claim
Origin: Turkey.
Sourced-from claim
Sourced from free-range cattle raised without antibiotics, steroids, or added hormones.
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Ideal for Small to Medium Dogs.
Supervision note
To prevent injury and choking hazard, always supervise your pet when giving any chew. If this chew splinters, develops sharp edges or breaks into pieces throw it away immediately.
Raw Paws Pet Food: Beef Gullet Sticks for Dogs, 6-inch - 10-ct
Ingredients (as listed)
Single-ingredient: Beef Gullet!
Made-in claim
Origin: Colombia.
Sourced-from claim
Sourced from free-range cattle raised without antibiotics, steroids, or added hormones.
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Ideal for Small to Medium Dogs. Chew Hardness: Light.
Supervision note
To prevent injury and choking hazard, always supervise your pet when giving any chew. If this chew splinters, develops sharp edges or breaks into pieces throw it away immediately.
Options on the page
10-ct
Note
The page lists the size as "Length: 6 inches (approx) - Thickness: 1/2 inch (approx)." It doesn't state a calorie figure.
sourced from trusted free-range cattle farmers around the world
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Size does matter! To avoid accidental swallowing that may result in choking or blockages, always choose a bully stick that's wider than your dog's mouth. When in doubt, select a larger size.
Supervision note
Always supervise your dog when they're enjoying a bully stick, and remove small or broken pieces to prevent your pup from choking. It's also important to provide access to fresh water before, during, and after treat consumption.
Best Bully Sticks: 6-Inch Standard Braided Gullet Sticks (25 Pack)
Ingredients (as listed)
single-ingredient natural chews made by braiding three beef gullet sticks together · Beef Esophagus
Made-in claim
Not stated, check with them
Sourced-from claim
Our beef gullet is sourced from trusted free-range cattle farmers around the world.
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
ideal for small to medium dogs who are moderate to strong chewers.
Supervision note
Please supervise your dog when giving any chew or treat and ensure your pup has easy access to fresh water before, during, and after treat consumption. · Remove small or broken pieces to prevent any potential choking hazard.
Options on the page
25 Pack
Note
The nutrition facts list 114 calories each (3800 kcal/kg). The page calls it a "rawhide alternative" but doesn't say rawhide-free.
Made from all-natural beef - grass-fed cattle from Brazil
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Standard thickness bully stick for moderate chewers.
Supervision note
Feeding instructions: Always supervise your dog while chewing and provide fresh water. Choose chews appropriate for your dog's size and chewing ability to prevent choking hazards.
Feeding instructions: Always supervise your dog while chewing and provide fresh water. · Remove the chew if it becomes small enough to swallow or breaks into pieces.
The page contradicts itself on the animal: its short description reads "6-inch pork gullet stick", while its bullet list says "Made from 100% beef gullet". Its feeding instructions say "Not suitable for puppies under 3 months old.", while the page's general FAQ names 6 months as the minimum puppy age.
We source from Europe, The Americas and Nepal through our SQF Food Safety Program
Rawhide-free?
These training treats are grain-free, gluten-free, and rawhide-free.
Size / dog guidance
Ideal for moderate chewers and teething puppies and small breeds.
Supervision note
Always supervise your dog while they are chewing and provide plenty of fresh water. · remove any small, broken, or splintered pieces, and be sure to choose the appropriate size chew.
Options on the page
20 count
Note
The page lists about 45 calories per chew. The sourcing line is the brand's general statement shown on the product page, not specific to this chew.
Sancho & Lola's Closet: 6-Inch Standard Charcuterie Style Bully Sticks - No odor-Made in the USA
Ingredients (as listed)
SINGLE INGREDIENT: 100% Beef Pizzle and nothing else.
Made-in claim
CHARCUTERIE: Made in the USA.
Sourced-from claim
Sourced and Made in the USA
Rawhide-free?
They will never contain any rawhide.
Size / dog guidance
LIGHT CHEWERS: our 6" Standards will average .75-1.1oz in weight and are great for small dogs, medium dogs, puppies, and older dogs.
Supervision note
So, we recommend monitoring your pup when you notice they are chewing on anything.
Options on the page
Standard 10-Count
Standard 20-Count
Standard 40-Count
Note
"Sourced and Made in the USA" is in the page title; the product description says "Made in the USA". The rawhide line is from the founder's note on the page, about all of the brand's chews.
Single Ingredient: 100% Beef Weasand, No Grain, No Glycerin, No Preservatives · 100% USDA Beef Weasand
Made-in claim
Sourced & Made in USA
Sourced-from claim
Sourced & Made in USA: We never source our meat from overseas.
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Not stated, check with them
Supervision note
Not stated, check with them
Options on the page
approximately 12 ounces
Note
The page says "Weasand is the muscle meat that surrounds the esophagus." and "The weight of the package is approximately 12 ounces. Each piece being about 1 ounce." It doesn't state a calorie figure.
Recommended chew size is slightly larger than your pet’s mouth.
Supervision note
Always monitor your pet while rewarding with a chew and give in limited quantity if your pet is not used to this chew. · discard any pieces that could be swallowed by your pet, as pieces could cause choking, gastric upset, or blockage.
Options on the page
Medium - 5pk
Large - 5pk
Medium - Case of 20
Large - Case of 30
Note
This is a collagen chew wrapped with beef esophagus, not esophagus alone. The page lists a shelf life of 36 months and leaves the calories field blank. It gives two different Medium net weights: 0.74oz in the details table and 1.12oz (32g) in the product description.