Home › Bully stick vs collagen stick: the same brands, side by side
Bully stick vs collagen stick: the same brands, side by side
Bully sticks and collagen sticks are both beef chews, but they're made from different parts of the animal. Three brands in our directory sell a 6-inch version of each, so this page puts each brand's bully stick next to its collagen stick and quotes what the two pages say about ingredients, origin, calories, protein and which chewers they're for. Where a page is silent, we say so. We don't pick a winner; your vet can help you choose for your dog.
Last checked 2026-10-27 · page updated 2026-10-30
Each brand's bully stick and collagen stick
Quoted from each brand's product page, checked 2026-10-27. "Not stated" means we found nothing on that page about it.
Watch: Bully stick vs collagen stick: the quotes in under a minute
A short summary of this page (brand pages checked 2026-10-27). These are the brands' claims, not ours. Narration is computer-generated. Watch on YouTube · Nibbables on YouTube
Read the video transcript
Bully stick or collagen stick? Three brands sell both, so here's what their own pages say.
All three bully sticks list beef pizzle as the one ingredient. The collagen sticks list beef collagen, or in Best Bully Sticks' case, beef hide as the source of collagen.
Jack and Pup lists at least ninety percent protein for its collagen stick and seventy-five for its bully stick, with minimum fat of half a percent versus fourteen and a half.
Raw Paws is the only brand that gives an origin for both. Turkey for the bully stick, Colombia for the collagen stick.
Which lasts longer? We found no study comparing them. Best Bully Sticks calls its collagen stick long-lasting for strong chewers, while Jack and Pup rates both for moderate chewers.
All six pages say to supervise your dog, and your vet can help you choose. The full side by side is at nibbables dot com.
Bully stick vs collagen stick: what's the difference?
They're made from different parts of the animal. The three bully sticks here list beef pizzle as the one ingredient: Raw Paws says “Single-ingredient: Bull Pizzle!” and Jack&Pup lists “100% Beef Pizzle”. The collagen sticks name collagen or hide instead: Raw Paws says “Single-ingredient: Beef Collagen!”, Jack&Pup lists “100% Beef Collagen”, and Best Bully Sticks lists its ingredient as “Beef Hide (Source of Collagen)”. Raw Paws, the one brand that gives an origin for both, names different countries: “Origin: Turkey.” for the bully stick and “Origin: Colombia.” for the collagen stick.
Collagen chew vs rawhide: is a collagen stick rawhide?
The brands don't agree on wording, so read the label of the stick you're looking at. Jack&Pup says its stick is “100% beef collagen – no rawhide or fillers”. Best Bully Sticks lists “Beef Hide (Source of Collagen)” as the ingredient and calls the stick a “Natural Alternative to Rawhide”, without saying how its processing differs from rawhide. Raw Paws lists one ingredient, beef collagen, and doesn't mention rawhide on the page. For comparison, Today's Veterinary Practice says “Rawhide chews are made from the chemically processed inner hide layer, most commonly from cows”, and the ASPCA says “Rawhide chews are manufactured from animal hides.” Neither source mentions collagen sticks, so we can't quote either on them.
What lasts longer than a bully stick?
We found no study that compares how long collagen sticks and bully sticks last. Best Bully Sticks describes its collagen stick as “Long-lasting chew for strong chewers” and “Comparable to 6-Inch Thick Bully Sticks”. Jack&Pup rates both of its 6-inch chews the same way, “Great for Moderate Chewers”, and calls the collagen stick a “Great alternative to bully stick”. Raw Paws gives dimensions instead: its bully stick is “Thickness: 0.5 inches (approx)” and its collagen stick “Thickness: 1/4 inch (approx).” How long either lasts depends on its size and on how your dog chews.
Collagen chews vs bully sticks for dogs: calories and protein
Only some of these pages give numbers. Best Bully Sticks lists its collagen stick at “3000 kcal/kg” and gives 36 under “Calories Each”; its thin bully stick page gives no calorie figure. Jack&Pup's guaranteed analysis lists “CRUDE PROTEIN (min) 90%” and “CRUDE FAT (min) 0.5%” for the collagen stick, and “CRUDE PROTEIN (min) 75%” and “CRUDE FAT (min) 14.5%” for the bully stick. Raw Paws gives no calorie or analysis figures for either. Our bully stick calories guide covers the published study that measured bully sticks.
Should I pick a collagen stick or a bully stick for my dog?
We don't pick one; ask your vet. Today's Veterinary Practice says “Veterinarians should base chew selection on the individual patient (e.g., size, diet, chewing behavior, ingredient intolerance)”. Best Bully Sticks adds, for its collagen stick, “We recommend introducing your dog to collagen sticks slowly to avoid any stomach issues.”
The same three brands, side by side
Raw Paws Pet Food, Best Bully Sticks and Jack&Pup each sell a 6-inch bully stick and a 6-inch collagen stick, so the table compares each brand's two product pages. Raw Paws uses the same size wording on both, “Ideal for Small to Medium Dogs.”, and rates the collagen stick “Chew Hardness: Medium.” Best Bully Sticks gives a calorie figure only for its collagen stick and gives no country for it. Jack&Pup names Brazil for its bully stick's cattle and gives no origin for its collagen stick.
What veterinary sources say about bully sticks and rawhide
Today's Veterinary Practice lists bully sticks under “Other body parts” in its group of “Animal-derived products that have undergone minimal processing”, and puts rawhide among extensively processed chews. The AKC warns that with bully sticks “power chewers might bite straight through, producing large pieces that pose a choking risk, or swallow the entire stick whole.” and advises “When your dog has chewed the stick down to a nub, take it away before they can swallow what’s left.”
We didn't find collagen sticks discussed by name in the Today's Veterinary Practice article or the ASPCA position statement, so we only quote what the brands say about them.
What each brand says about supervision
All six pages ask you to watch your dog. Raw Paws uses the same line on both: “always supervise your pet when giving any chew.” Best Bully Sticks says “Always supervise your dog when they're enjoying a bully stick” and “Always supervise your dog when they're enjoying a collagen stick”. Jack&Pup says on both pages “Always supervise your dog while chewing and provide fresh water.” and “Remove the chew if it becomes small enough to swallow or breaks into pieces.”
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Some brand-page links for Raw Paws Pet Food are CJ Affiliate links: if you buy through them, Nibbables earns a commission at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure.
Bully sticks
Raw Paws Pet Food: Standard Bully Sticks, 6-inch - 10-ct
Ingredients (as listed)
Single-ingredient: Bull Pizzle!
Made-in claim
Origin: Turkey.
Sourced-from claim
Sourced from free-range cattle raised without antibiotics, steroids, or added hormones.
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Ideal for Small to Medium Dogs.
Supervision note
To prevent injury and choking hazard, always supervise your pet when giving any chew. If this chew splinters, develops sharp edges or breaks into pieces throw it away immediately.
Raw Paws Pet Food: Beef Collagen Sticks for Dogs, 6-inch - 10-ct
Ingredients (as listed)
Single-ingredient: Beef Collagen!
Made-in claim
Origin: Colombia.
Sourced-from claim
Sourced from free-range cattle raised without antibiotics, steroids, or added hormones.
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Ideal for Small to Medium Dogs.
Supervision note
To prevent injury and choking hazard, always supervise your pet when giving any chew. If this chew splinters, develops sharp edges or breaks into pieces throw it away immediately.
sourced from trusted free-range cattle farmers around the world
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Size does matter! To avoid accidental swallowing that may result in choking or blockages, always choose a bully stick that's wider than your dog's mouth. When in doubt, select a larger size.
Supervision note
Always supervise your dog when they're enjoying a bully stick, and remove small or broken pieces to prevent your pup from choking. It's also important to provide access to fresh water before, during, and after treat consumption.
Best Bully Sticks: Best Bully Collagen Sticks (6-Inch)
Ingredients (as listed)
Beef Hide (Source of Collagen)
Made-in claim
Not stated, check with them
Sourced-from claim
Made from natural bovine hide (source of collagen)
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
always choose a collagen stick that's wider than your dog's mouth. When in doubt, select a larger size.
Supervision note
Always supervise your dog when they're enjoying a collagen stick, and remove small or broken pieces to prevent your pup from choking.
Options on the page
2 Pack
6 Pack
12 Pack
Note
Brand also labels the product "Natural Alternative to Rawhide"; that wording does not meet our rawhide-free quote rule. Amazon packs seen (5/10 ct) do not match brand pack options (2/6/12), so no Amazon link.
Made from all-natural beef - grass-fed cattle from Brazil
Rawhide-free?
Not stated, check with them
Size / dog guidance
Standard thickness bully stick for moderate chewers.
Supervision note
Feeding instructions: Always supervise your dog while chewing and provide fresh water. Choose chews appropriate for your dog's size and chewing ability to prevent choking hazards.